I've eaten with friends and colleagues in all these restaurants in (greater) Bangkok. I'm no food expert, but I do know what I like! Many of my older reviews were also published in Japanese on newsclip.be タイ発ニュース速報. Whether you're after Thai food, or craving a Mexican taco, Japanese buffet or fish & chips, you can find it all here.

* A friendly WARNING: restaurants close, change and move regularly, so before you go make sure to check *

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Naruto Ramen Restaurant ****

Bonus points for the Japanese atmosphere, with wooden furniture, some private booths to sit on the floor, tables with partitions and nice wall decorations. We went in for beer, but of course tried some snacks as well. We had a surprisingly tasty bowl of small fish with radish, excellent tako wasabi (raw squid) and the inevitable edamame green beans.
Prices were affordable and service was friendly.

690 Sukhumvit Road
02 661 4837 

Tomato Noodle, Paseo Park **

The decorations looked nice, but we weren't satisfied about the food. We ordered a salmon set, a Japanese curry and a miso soup. The portion of the salmon and salad were child-size and the taste was okay but nothing special. The curry and the miso soup were a bit better, but everything was far more expensive than in similar restaurants. Our dishes arrived at big intervals, so that one of us was eating while the other was not. Hot tea was on the menu but not available.  Bad value for money.

The Paseo Park
869 Kanchanapisek Road
02 111 3947
https://www.facebook.com/TomatoNoodleJr/

Sunday, June 11, 2017

Sendai Kama-Jinya Ramen ****

“Simple Japanese restaurant, open until late”
We went to this simple, atmospheric restaurant for a few more drinks at the end of the evening.

The Kirin beer was tasty, the staff friendly, and our snacks (edamame and spicy cucumber) tasted as they should. We'll be back.

18/8 Sukhumvit soi 23
02 258 4238

Kenshin Izakaya, Asok ***

“Very decorative but not very Japanese” 
If you've never been to Japan, this is what you imagine a Japanese restaurant looks like, beautifully decorated with new old posters, fake cherry-blossom trees and sitting on Japanese beer crates. The place was packed with young people, but no Japanese. 

The food is a limited selection of Japanese food and drinks. We just had a few snacks (edamame, grilled chicken with leek and chicken bottom), which all tasted as they should.

155 Asok Montri Road
02 661 6202

Old German Beerhouse ***

“Big meals” 
If you're into German food this is the place to go. There's a lot of choice on the menu, including a range of Thai dishes, and the drinks card is varied. 

We ordered the sausage salad, which came with too much (local?) sausage and processed cheese with not enough vegetables, and German sausages served with okay sauerkraut and mashed potatoes. The second happy hour started at 10 pm, which made the drinks more affordable. 

Service was quite fast and friendly. 

11 Sukhumvit soi 11
02 651 3838

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Took Lae Dee -Srinakarin Branch, Samrongnua, Samut Prakan ***

“24/7 food”
Not the cosiest place to sit, but convenient for a late meal; even at 1:30 a.m. there were still a lot of customers from all walks of life.

There's quite a menu of snacks, Asian and western dishes, desserts, drinks, and they also serve American breakfast. My friend always goes back for the tasty Indian chicken curry with rice and sausage; I myself just had a not so exciting coconut dessert.

Staff works hard and moves quickly. 

Foodland Supermarket
Soi Sridan 4, Srinakarin Road
02 383 3313

Monday, May 15, 2017

Krua Mae Sri Ruen | ครัวแม่ศรีเรือน **

"Food so so, and those flies and cats didn't help"
Went here for dinner with a Thai friend. Nice, wooden seating outside with some green along busy Rama 9 Road. A pity about the flies, and around 5 cats were begging for food while we were eating.

The food was far too mild. Our crab noodles in gravy (rad na) were tasteless; the fried fish itself delicious, but served with an unbalanced mix of salty, sweet and sour without the mandatory spicy; the taste of the pomelo with chicken salad (yam som-o) was overwhelming chicken and the curry too sweet. If Thai food is usually too spicy for you, this may be a place for you. We won't be back.

346 Pradit Manutham Road 
02 933 6361

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Fuji Restaurant, Seacon Square **

"Not recommended"
My experiences at other Fuji branches were good, but here the food was not so great; our takoyaki was not hot enough and my salmon set had big pieces of fat and fish bones on it. My friends thin-sliced beef and sushi set was okay. The only tasty dishes we had were the delicious avocado salad and the steamed egg.

Staff was friendly but sloppy. They roughyl distributed the various bowls of our sets randomly over the table and forgot the steamed egg that was part of my friend's set. The tables at the window have a nice view over the shopping mall, but that didn't make up for it.

Seacon Square, 5th floor
904 M.6, Srinakarin Road
02 721 9525, 02 721 9526 

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Mitsumori of Tokyo ****

“A pleasure to eat” 
Yes, nice minimalist atmosphere, lots of Japanese customers even on a Tuesday night, excellent food. The cold fresh tofu was a dream, the various grilled chicken sticks and pate delicious and my friends loved the soba in sour sauce and the pickled vegetables. The big bottles of Kirin beer went well with the food. Friendly and fast service.

47/1 Sukhumvit soi 23
02 640 8283

Friday, April 7, 2017

Sri Trat Restaurant | ศรีตราด ****

“Nice but pricey food”

The big restaurant looks nice in browns and greens with vintage Thai details. The lighting was a bit weird with, some guests at each table sitting right under spotlights and the others in the dark.

The food was tasty, but I can't judge the authenticity. My local friends called the food "wild", of stronger taste and less sophisticated than regular Thai food. We tried 4 dishes, of which the pork in flower leaves was my favourite. The minced pork with salty fish was fine, tumeric fried fish a bit boring and the cumin chicken very spicy. All served with unlimited hom malee rice for 40 baht each. 

Both food and drinks were quite pricey. Service was friendly but very servile, and not always up to speed yet.

Reservations are a must; this was our second try to eat here. When we left, we saw that most empty tables were reserved.

Sukhumvit 33 
02 088 0968 

Sunday, April 2, 2017

Marugame Seimen, Seacon Square **

We don't often run into a Japanes self-service restaurant, but here's one we found in Seacon Square shopping mall. The simple furniture and decoration looked okay, but the uncleared tables looked a mess.

The main choices are Udon or Tempura. We both chose the Sauce Kastudon (Pork) set, which I regretted at once as the pork was either double or over fried and the crust was enormous and hard, and there was just a little bit of sauce. The accompanying salad and seaweed soup were fine, and 1 glass of (Est) cola was also part of the deal.

The staff was overworked and under pressure. They didn't have time to clear the tables and ran around desperately, trying to keep up with the orders (and failing) while it wasn't even crowded. I won't be back.

Seacon Square, 4th floor
904 M.6, Srinakarin Road
02 720 2997 

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Yoshinoya, Central World ****

Japanese fastfood restaurant Yoshinoya pleasantly surprised me with the taste of the food.  I visited the branch at Central World, but there are many branches in Bangkok and a few outside.

I enjoyed my spicy yakiniko rice bowl with beef set, which came with a fresh salad and miso soup. Besides the usual condiments, there was also unlimited free pickled ginger on the table. I had my meal with hot tea.

Service was friendly, bilingual and fast, prices reasonable.

6th floor, Central World
999/9 Rama 1 Road
02 663 3888

Monday, March 27, 2017

Khua Kling Pak Sod Restaurant ***

“Good food, but pretentious and overpriced”

I've been here a few times with friends who love the place. The food is good (with some very spicy dishes), but it isn't better than you can get on the street in e.g. the Ramkhamhaeng area, the portions are small, and both food and drinks are expensive.

It's so popular with hi-so people that reservations are recommended. They don't accept credit cards, so bring lots of cash. Service is friendly and fast enough.

98/1 Soi Thonglor 5 
Sukhumvit 55 
02 185 3977, 086 053 7779, in English 081 811 5458 

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ootoya, Central Bangna ****

Ootaya is a minimalist-style Japanese restaurant with many branches all over Thailand. After exploring the newly renovated Central Bangna shopping mall, we sat down in one of the comfortable booths of Ootaya.

My friend had the fried pork loin & egg soup, I myself an amazing pan friend grilled chicken salad. We shared the pumpkin croquette that came with radish and a delicious ginger sauce. We chose a set, which means the main dish came with rice, soup, pickles and a steamed egg. There's a free refill of rice. Hot and cold green tea are also free, in unlimited quantities, other drinks including beers available. Some of the desserts looked great, but we were too full to try some.

Service was friendly and attentive, but staff was loitering a bit too much in our area; prices were reasonable.

Central Bangna 5th floor room 505
585 Bangna-Trad Road

Sunday, March 5, 2017

Jae Oh Khao Tom Pet | เจ๊โอว ข้าวต้มเป็ด ****

Long wait, excellent food” 

Unless you reserve, you're in for a long wait at this Chinese-Thai restaurant. It's a simple, air conditioned place with a small terrace outside. 

We had a variety of dishes, of which the spicy salmon salad (yam pla salmon) was the very best. Another winner was fresh crab fried with chili, but that didn't come cheap. Our other dishes like abalone with Chinese radish, kale with crispy pork, cabbage shrimp and a few others were all excellent. Our beers tasted well. 

Service was friendly enough but not very fast. Most dishes were reasonably priced. 

Charat Meuang Road 
064 118 5888

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Hungry Nerd Siam ***

“Affordable steaks and fish 'n chips”

The restaurant is located in a brightly-lit air conditioned space in a small entertainment area.

The menu offers a range of beef, pork, chicken and few fish steak, salads, french fries, pasta etc. Our fish 'n chips and dolly steak, served with fries, some salad and not enough sauce, tasted well enough, and they also served beer.

Staff was friendly, but there weren't enough of them even though the place only half full.

Coco walk, BTS Rajthevee
02 656 5550

Mega Bangna 2nd-floor Food Court, Bang Phli, Samut Prakan ***


Classy food court on the second floor of Mega Bangna, an enormous shopping mall a bit out of town. Small tiles on the floor, plants and wooden furniture make it a pleasant place to sit.

There's a wide choice of Thai and foreign food, including Japanese and Indian. My tasty Japanese bento box wasn't very expensive (around $4), and my friend's egg and noodles was excellent. Both came with free miso soup of course. Soft drinks and herbal drinks available.

As usual in food courts you buy a cash card in advance, pay your food, and receive the leftover balance back. 

Mega Bangna 2nd floor
38 Moo 6 Bangna-Trad km. 8 
Bang Phli, Samut Prakan

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Yi Yuan, Prachachoen | ญีญวณ ***

Yi Yuan is a very popular place for family dinner in the north of Bangkok. Decoration is simple and there are booths as well as tables. Parts of the walls have been unfinished for years at some places, and I think it doesn't look too nice.

The food is what you'd expect of Vietnamese food. We wrapped our naem niang with vegetables and its condiments with the free vegetables in the thin pancakes, always a treat. We also had the traditional noodle soup with pork (fer moo yoh), which was okay, and a crispy pancake wrap with vegetables and peanuts (banh xeo), which was better. 

Service was attentive, but the food took quite a while to arrive. I wouldn't get out of my way for this one. 

Opposite Prachachoen Police Station 
226 Thetsaban Rangrak Tai Road 
02 920 4090 

Monday, February 6, 2017

Nguan Lang Wang, Fortune Town | ง้วนหลังวัง ***

After picking up my computer from the repair shop, I had a quick meal at Thai fast food restaurant Nugan Lang Wang in the basement of Fortune Town. The place looks simple with wooden furniture and tiles on the floor.

The menu offers a variety of mostly noodle dishes. I had the shrimp wonton noodle with duck, which was served with a small bowl of soup. The taste was okay, although it was all a bit too oily for my taste and the portion was small. For drinks there are smoothies and a few types of soft drink.

Service was friendly and quite fast.

Basement Fortune Town
1 Ratchadaphisek Rd
02 642 1193
Reviews on wongnai.com

Boon Restaurant | บุญโภชนา | 食得福 ****

“Excellent Chinese food, not impressed with service and cleanliness” 

We tried 5-6 dishes including a whole boiled chicken (a huge portion, delicious), an excellent spicy fried tofu and fried kidney; the only dish that wasn't worth it was the vegetable soup, which was too salty. They have a whole range of frog dishes, but we didn't try any. 

Don't go if you appreciate service and hygiene. We were ignored when we came in, service was slow and not very friendly, they forgot one of our dishes, didn't bring the extra cutlery we asked for, the table was sticky and there were food leftovers under our table.

152/18-19 Silom Road
02 237 2764, 081 721 1368

Monday, January 30, 2017

Heiroku Sushi, Mega Bangna, Bang Phli, Samut Prakan ****

Attracted by the moving belt with small dishes and desserts, we sat down at this open restaurant. There's wooden furniture including some seats right at the belt.  

You can just grab your choices from the belt as well as order from the extensive menu. Price of each dish depends on the colour of the serving plate. We ended up having 9 dishes, with our favourite grilled mackerel battleship roll twice. Also excellent were the grilled pork rolls and the swordfish salad. All dishes were freshly made by the cooks operating inside the belt-loop. Hot and cold tea is free in unlimited quantities, and there's quite a range of desserts.

Service was not very fast. We also had to ask for our refills every time and staff forgot to prepare one of the dishes we ordered.

Mega Bangna
38 Moo 6 Bangna-Trad km. 8
Bang Phli, Samut Prakan
Facebook

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

MK Restaurant @Piyarom ***


Once in a while we end up having dinner at one of the branches of MK restaurant. 

MK's especially popular for it's suki hot pot, but usually we're too lazy to prepare our own food. Last night we ended up having a tasty roast duck, Shanghai pak choi vegetables that were a bit too drowned in sauce and and excellent, soft braised beef. Most of the dishes are Chinese and Chinese-Thai.

The drinks menu is full of smoothies, herbal and fruit drinks, but also hot coffee and tea and beer. Their popular desserts menu consists of range of traditional Thai desserts (my Thai friend loves them) and ice cream dishes. 

Service is especially at the beginning fast and friendly, a bit slower for refill or additional orders.

Piyarom Place
3079/25 Soi Priyabud, Sukhumvit Road (between sois 101 and 101/1, next to Tops supermarket)

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Yamazato @The Okura Prestige Bangkok ****

"Okura set lunch"'

Staying at the Okura is out of my budget, but I did have the Gozen set lunch menu with some Japanese friends there. For around 650 baht ($18) each we had a wide range of small dishes including sashimi, tempura, tofu, raw and pickled vegetables, miso soup, etc. For dessert we had fruit and a creamy dish. I enjoyed the food and its variety very much, and my friends obviously do too as they've been coming here for here for lunch regularly.

Location and view are excellent, service is immaculate. Because of the steep price I won't be back any time soon. 

57 Wireless Road (Wittayu Road), Park Ventures Ecoplex
02 687 9000
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g293916-d2624290-r450880113-The_Okura_Prestige_Bangkok-Bangkok.html

Sunday, January 8, 2017

Krua Apsorn, Dinso Road | ครัวอัปษร สาขา ถนนดินสอ ***** ★

“One of the best local food places” 

I've been coming here over the years with both Thai and foreign friends and everyone loves the food. The place isn't much to look at, it's extremely busy and there's usually a queue for dinner. Still, the wonderful old-fashioned Thai food makes it worth the wait.

The last time we had the stir-fried mushrooms, yellow curry with lotus roots (rarely seen anywhere), prawn omelet, baramundi (fish) with celery, sato beans with prawns and minced pork, plus a few more, literally all of them excellent dishes.

Please note that the restaurant closes at 8 pm. They run out of the more popular dishes well before that.

169 Dinso Road, off Ratchadamnoen Road 
02 685 4531, 080 550 0310  

Glur Bangkok | เกลอ แบงคอก ***

“Big-size drinks, no cake, expensive food” 

Met here with some old friends recently for a coffee and a chat. The small cafe looks nice with wooden furniture inside and a terrace outside.

The drip coffee was tasty and my friends' smoothies were good. We'd expected cake, but there wasn't any. The staff was nice enough to let us bring our own. The mostly Thai food was expensive; one of my friends went for an all-day breakfast which was okay.

Staff was friendly but our drinks came very slow, one-by-one, and we were presented with the bill without asking for it.

45 Soi Charoen Krung 50
02 630 5595