I've eaten with friends and colleagues in all these restaurants in (greater) Bangkok. I'm no food expert, but I do know what I like! Many of my older reviews were also published in Japanese on newsclip.be タイ発ニュース速報. Whether you're after Thai food, or craving a Mexican taco, Japanese buffet or fish & chips, you can find it all here.

* A friendly WARNING: restaurants close, change and move regularly, so before you go make sure to check *

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Soo Ra Gan @ Terminal 21 ***

Two old friends and their 2-year old met me at this conveniently located Korean barbecue restaurant in Terminal 21 shopping mall.

With its stone floor, wooden furniture and sparse decoration the style is quite minimalist and spacey. The kid was lucky it was around Christmas when there were at least some colourful decorations in place. There are regular dining tables and chairs as well as the lower sit-on-a-mat-on-the-ground version.

Being a barbecue restaurant every table of course features a built-in barbecue on which the personnel will prepare your food. You

Friday, October 19, 2012

Tokiya Fusion Steak Course ***

A dinner with an old friend re-visiting Bangkok brought us to this Japanese fusion steak restaurant.

The restaurant is decorated in Japanese minimalist style in wood and dark colours and looks quite artistic. Its motto is "where eat meats art".

For 499++ baht we got a full menu of 6-7 courses covering appetizer, salad, soup, rice dishes, main course, desserts and drink. Yes, that's a lot

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Sukiya (สุคิยะ) ***

Relatively new in Thailand are the restaurants of the Japanese Sukiya chain, which has over 1,000 branches all over Japan. Last month I visited the branch at Asiatique the Riverfront and a few days ago we tried the branch at Gateway Ekamai.

The layout and decorations are standardised with lots of red, rattan and leather furniture, wooden floors and the walls are full of food photos. Every table is equipped with a bell to call the waiter.

Its most famous dish is gyudon, a bowl of shredded beef and fried onions served on rice. The dish

Raan Petchabun Rot Saeb | ร้านเพชรบูรณ์รสแซ่บ **

After reading all those rave reviews about street food in Rangnam Road, a popular area for resident foreigners in Thailand, we decided to try one of the local street food restaurants. As rot saeb means "delicious", we had some expectations.

You can't go wrong with standard Thai dishes, or so we thought, so we ordered fish laab (minced fish), som tam (papaya salad) and fried vegetables, but we were wrong. The food was not very delicious and very oily, and the laab was full of fish bones.

The lady who served us spoke loud and rude English, until

Saturday, July 14, 2012

Chandrphen Restaurant | ภัตตาคารจันทร์เพ็ญ ****

With some friends I celebrated my birthday with a dinner at the Chinese-Thai family restaurant Chandrphen. It started its life as just a grilled chicken stall in front of a factory, but nowadays the restaurant proudly carries the Royal Garuda Emblem awarded around 50 years ago by HM the King for its service to royal events.

The restaurant is located on at least 2 floors and has function rooms for parties and weddings. The atmosphere on the ground floor is quite warm for a Chinese restaurant with nice furniture and

Sunday, July 8, 2012

J'Khai Seafood | เจ๊ไข่ซีฟู้ด ***

For months my friend had been talking about this seafood restaurant, so we finally had a look last week. The place is quite far away from the city, but the area itself is one of the most popular nightspots of Northern Bangkok.

Started in 1980 as one small shop, over the years J'Khai ("Older sister Egg") has grown into a row of old shop houses with metal tables and plastic stools inside as well as outside on the pavement, some covered, some open to the elements. Decorations consist mainly of food photos and

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Michi Japanese Restaurant ****

A Japanese friend invited us for a surprise menu at this Japanese restaurant in the heart of Bangkok's Japanese red light street, soi Thanya.

The place is hidden away a bit from the main road but not difficult to find. Part of the restaurant looks like a cave, and customers sit in minimalist booths separated by partitions. Once of my friend doesn't like to (or can't) fold himself the Japanese way, but here you can sit on the floor with your feet dangling under the table.

As we were waiting for our surprise menu - different menus for men and women - we had a tasty

Friday, May 11, 2012

Tapas Cafe ***

*Update 2017: Tapas Cafe at Sukhumvit 11 is CLOSED, but there's another Tapas branch at Silom.

Yesterday a friend and I went for a paella at Tapas Cafe in lower Sukhumvit.

The Spanish restaurant is nicely decorated in cream and brown-tints, decorated with almost monochrome photos (a temporary exhibition) and comfortable modern chairs and tables on 1.5 floors. There's a big terrace out front at the pedestrian-only street; a nice place for people-watching.

As the name of the restaurant implies, it serves Spanish food, mainly

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Chaba Restaurant @ Srinakarin **

A friends' goodbye dinner took us to this fixed-price self-service barbecue restaurant in between Seacon Square and Paradise Park in the outskirts of Bangkok. It's part of a chain of around 10 restaurants in and around Bangkok.

The spacious restaurant is basically a big terrace, partially covered from the sun and the rain, with huge parking in front. Seating is on wooden benches at round wooden tables, or at concrete tables, but most customers are seated on green plastic chairs at light metal tables. Decoration

Monday, April 23, 2012

Akbar Restaurant ****

Attracted by its fairytale lights and decorations, Akbar Restaurant was the first Indian restaurant I visited when I came to Bangkok many years ago. Nowadays I still go there once in a while for a good Indian meal.

With its signature horse statue outside, the restaurant has been around for over 30 years. It's decorated with lots of silver, coloured lights, fake flowers, mirrors etc. on two floors; tables are decked out with tablecloth and chairs are covered with fabric providing for a luxury atmosphere. A pity

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

(Radna) Yodphak Siriraj | ราดหน้ายอดผักศิริราช ****

For over 30 years this riverside restaurant has been popular with students from nearby universities, Siriraj Hospital and visitors of the famous Wang Lang Market for its good food for cheap(ish) prices.

Downstairs the open kitchen and maybe 10 tables, upstairs another 20 from where life on the river can be observed with a beautiful view of the Rama VIII Bridge, Thammasat University and the Royal Grand Palace. With some stretching you can even see the Wat Arun. Furniture consists of simple metal tables with stools, decoration is

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Dine in the Dark (DID) **

I must admit that eating in a pitch-black restaurant is a completely different way to enjoy your meal. After handing in our mobile phones, cameras and other equipment that might emit light at the reception, our blind guide "Ball" led us - in single file with our hands on each others' shoulders - into the restaurant, seated us at our table and served the 3 courses of the meal of our choice.

Instructed by "Ball" we managed to find our cutlery and glasses of water, and once the food arrived he gave us some tips on how to eat without spilling it all over ourselves, the table and the floor. By the sound of it

Friday, March 16, 2012

Wanakarm Thai Cuisine | วนคาม ****

It's not easy to find good Thai food in the lower Sukhumvit area, but I was introduced to this restaurant by one of my friends who always takes his company's visitors here for lunch.

The place is an old Thai house and looks like you're sitting in somebody's hi-so living room in the seventies. Decorations comprise big chandeliers, artificial flowers, wood-cuts, brass peacocks and old-style paintings. The wooden furniture and real table cloth covered with plastic make it seem even tackier. Outside there's a terrace with some green, and there's a little garden

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

New Light Coffee House | นิวไล้ท์ คอฟฟี่เฮ้าส์ ***

This seventies Chinese - western - Thai restaurant is a good place for a meal if you find yourself hungry at Siam Square. Located next to the Hard Rock Cafe, its western food is definitely a lot cheaper, although maybe not as tasty.

The interior hasn't changed since the seventies; people sit comfortably on brown leather in booths with wrought-iron partitions, blue glass lamps are hanging from the ceiling, there's an old cashier counter and more vintage partitions in different shades of green. Eaters look straight into the open kitchen. The third floor

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Steak Lao @ Piyarom | สเต็กลาว *** [CLOSED]

Looking to enjoy some north-eastern Thai food, a friend and I went for dinner in one of the 5 branches of this restaurant chain opposite Siam Paradise Night Bazaar.

The place must be quite popular judging by the fact that most of the tables were full on a Tuesday night. Decorations and furniture are more stylish (and expensive) than in other Isan restaurants.

We had some delicious prawn cakes with honey, one of their specialties, a good

Saturday, March 3, 2012

Al Matum Restaurant | เอามาตำ ***

This relatively new restaurant, a Thai sister of shisha bar and Moroccan restaurant Al Majlis, serves north-eastern food with som tam as its signature dish. The name may look Arabic but it actually is the Thai sentence "ao ma tam" (เอามาตำ) inviting you to make your own som tam.

The restaurant is set in an old house in a small soi off the main road, with a beautiful and quiet garden outside. The simple wooden furniture where you can sit or lie down with typical Thai triangular pillows, big umbrellas and the soft lighting make it very atmospheric

Friday, March 2, 2012

Offshore Fish & Chips Shop ***

Last month I went for some fish & chips at this bar annex restaurant with a friend who used to live in the UK.

The place caters mostly to local expats and is located close to red light district Soy Cowboy and other western restaurants. You can take away your fish & chips, or eat it right there in the simply decorated restaurant or on one of the wooden benches outside.

We tried the fish & chips with red snapper, the local fish variety. I like my fries thick

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Somboon Seafood Restaurant @ Surawong | สมบูรณ์โภชนา ****

The original fried curry crab is the signature dish of Somboon Seafood Restaurant, its first branch established in 1969 in Chinatown with now five branches in Bangkok. Our group of 7 visited the Surawong branch, which judging by the queue waiting outside (it was a Saturday!) very popular with locals as well as foreign visitors.

The 4-storey restaurant has big rooms on all floors serving hundreds of guests at the same time. People can sit at regular tables and chairs, or like us at a so-called Chinese table, a

Sunday, February 12, 2012

Ha Dao @ Sukhumvit 101 | ห้าดาว ***

This franchise restaurant serves khao man kay (chicken on rice) and other chicken dishes. The branch is new but the "Ha Dao" ("five stars") chain has been around for over 25 years.

The place is non-airconditioned but light and clean, and photos of their dishes decorate the walls. The simple furniture includes tables decked out with their own trademark plastic tablecloth and the booth in the front shows all the food to be had.

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

13 Coins Restaurant Bangna | 13 เหรียญ ***

On a low budget but craving a good steak, some students took me to the 13 Coins Restaurant in Bangna, one of the many branches in Thailand. The original 13 Coins is in Seatlle, but after working there in the kitchen for many years Thai employee Somchai was given permission by the owner to use the same name for his new restaurant in Bangkok.

The restaurant is huge but looks very cozy with big sofas and comfortable chairs grouped around dining tables

Sunday, January 29, 2012

55 Pochana | 55 โภชนา ****

Thai-Chinese restaurant 55 Pochana (which means "nutrition") has been around for a long time and is a popular place for a late-night khao tom (rice soup) and other kinds of delicious food. The place is so famous that the local indie band "Sepia" even wrote the song "55 Pochana" about it (see below).

The place is nothing much to look at. Metal tables and plastic chairs are set up outside on the pavement, only protected from the main road by plants, and there's

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Sustaina Organic Restaurant **** ★

Last weekend a friend introduced us to one of her favourite restaurants in the heart of Sukhumvit, Sustaina. Originally just an organic food shop with a coffee shop upstairs, the place has turned into a quality restaurant with the arrival of the former cook of Samurai Japanese restaurant further down the road.

The organic vegetarian food and food products served in the restaurant and sold in the Sustaina shop

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Noodle Shop @ Sukhumvit 19 ****

While I was studying Thai in soi 19, this little noodle shop was the place where we often went for a quick meal after class. Nowadays I still go there once in a while when I'm in the area.

The place is nothing much to look at, a stall and some tables outside, with some more tables inside the narrow shop house. It doesn't even have a name as far as I know.

The only dish on the menu is noodles. They have pork, beef

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Sizzler @ Siam Center ***

(Also reviewed on TripAdvisor) “Great salad bar, skip the meat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having eaten at Sizzler quite a few times, I can really recommend the salad bar. There's a wide variety of fresh raw vegetables, prepared salads, soups, cold spaghetti, quail eggs, fruits and some other desserts in unlimited quantities. My favourite is the chocolate mousse. However, I've never been charmed by the meat dishes. The meat is usually soft and overcooked

Monday, January 2, 2012

Dojoe Steak Expert ***

After attending a ceremony in the nearby Sommanat temple we ran into this newly opened little Thai steak restaurant. Despite its newness the place was almost full so we quickly went in to take the last available table.

The place has light wood-coloured tables and chairs and is, for the moment at least, scarcely decorated with some drawings. The cooks are visible preparing the food in the back.

The beef steak I ordered was a good one, tasty and not chewy, my friend's fish steak