I've eaten with friends and colleagues in all these restaurants in (greater) Bangkok. I'm no food expert, but I do know what I like! Many of my older reviews were also published in Japanese on newsclip.be タイ発ニュース速報. Whether you're after Thai food, or craving a Mexican taco, Japanese buffet or fish & chips, you can find it all here.

* A friendly WARNING: restaurants close, change and move regularly, so before you go make sure to check *

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Santa's

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar half.svgStar empty.svg Santa's: where a burger is still a burger. Conveniently located on the ground floor of MBK shopping mall, Santa's is the place where I go for a real burger. The place doesn't look much with its open floor plan, and although the area is surrounded by a low partition, shoppers are all around you while you are eating. The furniture is straight and simple but comfortable enough.

My favourite is the cheeseburger. The irregular-sized burger patty, not greasy and bigger than its bun, is freshly prepared and decorated with cheese, iceberg lettuce, tomato, pickled cucumber and onions rings,

Saturday, December 17, 2011

11 Gallery

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar empty.svgStar empty.svg (TripAdvisor) “Go for the cocktails and beautiful setting, not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Located in and around a (fake) old Thai wooden house surrounded by lots of green, this is a nice place to sit down with a drink in the evening. Service is cheerful and in Thai dress, and guests sit on wooden furniture or even on pillows on the wooden floor. There are some air-conditioned rooms upstairs.

We're never so enthusiastic about the (Thai) food though; it's okay but not that special, and

Snapper **** [CLOSED]

After being called the number one fish & chips place in Bangkok by a local (free) magazine my friend wanted to check out this New-Zealand seafood restaurant.

The place is located in a nice shop house on 1.5 floors in the heart of Sukhumvit Road. There are wooden chairs and benches inside as well as outside on the terrace, and some extra high tables and bar stools outside as well. Decoration is of course fish-themed with paintings in bright colours and fishing nets.

On the menu as promised many (fried) fish dishes. There are several varieties

Monday, December 5, 2011

Champ Loak (แชมป์โลก)

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar empty.svgStar empty.svg Sukhumvit 38 is a famous area for an evening meal and there are around 20 street stalls and shops providing for a wide variety of mostly delicious Thai food.

Over the whole length of the food market metal tables with plastic chairs are set up along the road side, which is quite acceptable as there's hardly any traffic in this dead-end soi in the evening.

Not very modest to call your shop Champ Loak ("world champion"), but this

Sunday, December 4, 2011

Foodstall near Central World

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar empty.svgStar empty.svg Too lazy to walk far we decided to try one of the 2 nameless food stalls near Central World. The location is convenient, but the place doesn't look much. Metal tables and chairs are set up next to the busy main road, and passers-by have to wriggle their way past the tables.

Our expectations were not high, so we ordered some simple Thai food. The yam wun sen thalay (seafood salad with glass noodles) was excellent, and the laab moo (minced pork),

Saturday, December 3, 2011

Cafe Europe [closed]

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar empty.svg This Danish-run restaurant serves Bangkok's biggest burger, a 2.5 kilo monster, and I challenged a friend with a good appetite to have one at my cost. The burger is free if you can eat it within 3 hours. Since the opening in March 2010 300 people have tried but only 7 have succeeded. My friend decided the burger would be too much, but the three of us went there anyway to try some regular Danish food.

The restaurant is located in a shop house with about 10 tables, including a few on the terrace outside for fresh air and/or smokers. The tables

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Eat Me Restaurant

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar empty.svg (TripAdvisor) “Good food in arty environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Loved the art on the wall and had an excellent meal. There wasn't a lot of choice though and the portions weren't very big.

Soi Pipat 2, off Convent Road,
02 238 0931

Cabbages & Condoms

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar empty.svgStar empty.svg (TripAdvisor) “Nice ambiance but very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Nice garden setting, interesting (condom) theme and shop. Food is too much to foreign taste and hardly tastes like Thai food at all. It isn't bad but it just isn't it.

10 Sukhumvit 12
02 229 4611
http://www.pda.or.th/restaurant/restaurant.asp

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Im Jang Restaurant (อิ่มจัง)

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar half.svgStar empty.svgStar empty.svg Looking for but not finding our favourite street stall, we ended up having a quick meal in this simple Thai restaurant named Im Jang, which means "very full".

The place is decorated simply with dark wooden tables and stools, food photos on the wall and colourful decorations. There's no air-conditioning. After we sat down the place filled up quickly with what looked like Thai tourists, other Asians and some foreigners.

The restaurant is make-to-order, so you can have whatever you fancy. We had

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Yakiniku Giants (ไจแอนท์)

Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar empty.svgStar empty.svg If you're looking for a good quality fixed-price Japanese buffet, this is the place to go.

Located inside the Citi Resort (serviced apartments) building, Giants is fitted with light wooden furniture, and you can choose between regular tables with pillowed benches and lower tables where you take off your shoes and sit on pillows on the floor.

Most tables were occupied when we went there and we did notice some giants enjoying a big meal.

Being with 2 big guys we ordered many different dishes. Absolute winners were