I've eaten with friends and colleagues in all these restaurants in (greater) Bangkok. I'm no food expert, but I do know what I like! Many of my older reviews were also published in Japanese on newsclip.be タイ発ニュース速報. Whether you're after Thai food, or craving a Mexican taco, Japanese buffet or fish & chips, you can find it all here.

* A friendly WARNING: restaurants close, change and move regularly, so before you go make sure to check *

Saturday, November 25, 2017

S&P Restaurants ***

There are dozens or maybe even hundreds of branches (bakeries and/or restaurants) all over Thailand. The Thai, Japanese and Chinese food in the S&P restaurants is always kind of okay, but never good. The place is always clean and spacy, but never cosy. The prices are not low, but still affordable.
Suitable for those without inspiration, without other options (like us in Rama IX Park earlier this month) and/or urgently in need of airconditiong.

1344

KRAM Cafe & Thai Kitchen | คราม KRAM Cafe & Thai Kitchen ****

Tasty but pricy Thai food in a vintage-style restaurant full of foreigners
The restaurant was difficult to find, and unfortunately the whole garden was already fully booked when we tried to reserve a seat. The atmosphere inside the old-style house was cosy, but except for the staff there was hardly a Thai person in sight.
The food is a wide variety of Thai food from all over the country (try the satoh, southern stinky beans) and some rare dishes like yam som-oh, spicy pomelo salad. The food tasted well (also according to my Thai friends, who should know), but the price was very high. I don't think we'll be back. 

Soi Phop Mit Sukhumvit 39 
02 258 8170 
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g293916-d6857076-r543153172-KRAM_Cafe_Thai_Kitchen-Bangkok.html#

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Huntsman Pub @ Landmark Hotel ***

Nice atmosphere, okay food, high prices 
We picked the place for a special dinner because it's one of the oldest bar/restaurants in Bangkok. Bonus points for the decoration! With the 3 of us we had an okay shepherd's pie, tasty ribs and an unfortunately very bland chicken dish. Only because it was happy hour our beers were still affordable. There was also a weekend buffet roast on offer. Staff were friendly but slow. 

138 Sukhumvit Road 
02 254 0404 ext. 4045  

Yuzuki Izakaya & Sushi Bar, Punnawithi ****

This new Japanese restaurant still looks a bit empty, but the food was tasty, and the (temporary) discount was good.
We had quite a variety of dishes, including raw squid salad, takoyaki (squid balls), raw salmon, sushi, tempura, etc. Our drink was hot tea. The quality of the food was good and we really enjoyed the meal. The restaurant claims to buy its seafood fresh from the Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo.
Service was friendly but a bit slow; I assume this will get better once the restaurant gets up to speed

3077/2 Sukhumvit Road
between sois 101 and 101/1
064 118 3879

Fall in Love Cafe ***

Romantic coffee shop with not so cheap food
Popped in to hide from the rain, found a romantic, spacy coffee shop. There's quite a selection of hot and cold drinks, and some cakes. The food menu covers breakfasts, salads, rice dishes, pasta, soups and curry, etc., and my yamtuaplu (Thai winged bean salad) was excellent. The prices are quite high though, and if you're not a romantic, the interior is too sweet. Wifi is free, staff was friendly but slow.

194 Sukumvit 101/1
@fallinlovecafe
02 747 9287

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Khob Fah La Tawan, Samut Prakan | ขอบฟ้าลาตะวัน *****

Cheap seafood, seagulls, seaview, love it 
This army-owned restaurant at the end of a pier has lots of delicious seafood like squid, tom yam, mussels, oisters and other shells at cheap prices. There's plenty of other food too, and ice cream, fruit and local desserts. Yes, there's beer too. 

You can sit inside or outside on the terrace of this huge place, and walk around for a sea-, mangrove or mud-view or see the sunset. At the right season the pier is filled with seagulls waiting for you to throw them some of the birdfeed that's for sale everywhere. The restaurant is in the Bangpu Recreation Center. 

Sasaya @ Sukhumvit 39 ****

Liked the food, loved the traditional environment 
Liked the food, loved the traditional environment with its mud walls and private booths. My Japanese friend and us sampled a variety of small dishes including pate, sashimi, various salads, tofu and eggplant, accompanied by some tasty beer. The Japanese menu was more extensive than the Thai/English, and covered some specials of the day. Service was friendly, sometimes a bit slow. 

28/1 Sukhumvit 39 Rd, Sukhumvit 39 Complex, 1F,
02 662 6511 

Baan Rabiang Nam | River Tree House ****

Great atmosphere and good food 
A nice traditional-looking place at the riverside, a good spot for a sunset meal. The food and beer were good, the service a bit slow, and the prices higher than expected. 

The singer and his guitar were a nice touch, but to create a more authentic atmosphere I'd prefer it if he'd sing more Thai songs. 

It was not as close to the underground as I'd hoped and it was a bit difficult to find. The entrance road is very narrow, but there's a free shuttle tuk-tuk.

Nonthaburi road, soi 23
Soi Wat Khae Nok
Nonthaburi 
02 968 1481

Monday, September 4, 2017

Yen Ta Four Lam Fah Pha | เย็นตาโฟแหลมฟ้าผ่า ***

“Chinese food until late at night” 
This 1976 restaurant is popular with families and for late night meals (it's open until 4 am). We didn't have its signature dish yen tah fo, but the steamed duck was tasty and the fresh springrolls were good and soft. I wasn't too enthusiastic about the fried springrolls though, which were hard and probably double-fried. Our kao lao soup and fried small fish were fine too.

There isn't much atmosphere, think bright lights, white tiles and plastic chairs. Service was quite fast and the bill wasn't very high. Good for a quick meal.

Soi 1, Phatthanakan Road
02 318 3518

Thursday, August 24, 2017

Yoshinoya, Central Bangna ***

Another one of those mediocre Japanese fast food chain restaurants that are everywhere in Bangkok. The minimalist interior is always pleasant and the food is kind of okay. 

The quality of the beef in the beef bowl wasn’t very good and the miso-soup was too thick, but the salad that came with the sets was fine. My teriyaki salmon was tasty too, but small, and our fried chicken side dish was okay. The kuzumochi green jelly dessert (2 for 1) was too soft and wet. 

Whenever food was ready a bell rang twice and far too loud, which disturbed our conversation. Service was friendly and quite fast.

5th floor Central Bangna 
Bangna-Trad Road
Website

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Steak Lao Udomsuk by K.Dang ****

“Good Thai food in classy restaurant”
The food may not taste better than on the street, but the environment is a lot more classy. Going there with a friend around lunch time we saw lots of families, but also office workers coming in for lunch.

Our Thai food (yam tua plu, pork cakes, some vegetable dishes and curry) and drinks tasted well; and there's even a Korean Bingsu desert menu at the end. We didn't order steak. Service was professional. A good place for a nice Thai meal on a hot day.

Baan Udomsuk
Sukhumvit 103
086 323 1161

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Indian Food 17 Charoennakhon | ถนนเจริญนคร ****

“Tasty and affordable Indian food”
My friend took me for lunch at this simple Indian restaurant. The mutton curry, chicken tikka and the bread were fresh and tasty and prepared the way we get them in India, but our Indian salad was a bit too spicy. The cook was Indian. Our 2 types of lassi proved a good choice.
Service was not very communicative and can be improved.

1287 Charoen Nakhon Rd 
085 050 7204

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Naruto Ramen Restaurant ****

Bonus points for the Japanese atmosphere, with wooden furniture, some private booths to sit on the floor, tables with partitions and nice wall decorations. We went in for beer, but of course tried some snacks as well. We had a surprisingly tasty bowl of small fish with radish, excellent tako wasabi (raw squid) and the inevitable edamame green beans.
Prices were affordable and service was friendly.

690 Sukhumvit Road
02 661 4837 

Tomato Noodle, Paseo Park **

The decorations looked nice, but we weren't satisfied about the food. We ordered a salmon set, a Japanese curry and a miso soup. The portion of the salmon and salad were child-size and the taste was okay but nothing special. The curry and the miso soup were a bit better, but everything was far more expensive than in similar restaurants. Our dishes arrived at big intervals, so that one of us was eating while the other was not. Hot tea was on the menu but not available.  Bad value for money.

The Paseo Park
869 Kanchanapisek Road
02 111 3947
https://www.facebook.com/TomatoNoodleJr/

Sunday, June 11, 2017

Sendai Kama-Jinya Ramen ****

“Simple Japanese restaurant, open until late”
We went to this simple, atmospheric restaurant for a few more drinks at the end of the evening.

The Kirin beer was tasty, the staff friendly, and our snacks (edamame and spicy cucumber) tasted as they should. We'll be back.

18/8 Sukhumvit soi 23
02 258 4238

Kenshin Izakaya, Asok ***

“Very decorative but not very Japanese” 
If you've never been to Japan, this is what you imagine a Japanese restaurant looks like, beautifully decorated with new old posters, fake cherry-blossom trees and sitting on Japanese beer crates. The place was packed with young people, but no Japanese. 

The food is a limited selection of Japanese food and drinks. We just had a few snacks (edamame, grilled chicken with leek and chicken bottom), which all tasted as they should.

155 Asok Montri Road
02 661 6202

Old German Beerhouse ***

“Big meals” 
If you're into German food this is the place to go. There's a lot of choice on the menu, including a range of Thai dishes, and the drinks card is varied. 

We ordered the sausage salad, which came with too much (local?) sausage and processed cheese with not enough vegetables, and German sausages served with okay sauerkraut and mashed potatoes. The second happy hour started at 10 pm, which made the drinks more affordable. 

Service was quite fast and friendly. 

11 Sukhumvit soi 11
02 651 3838

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Took Lae Dee -Srinakarin Branch, Samrongnua, Samut Prakan ***

“24/7 food”
Not the cosiest place to sit, but convenient for a late meal; even at 1:30 a.m. there were still a lot of customers from all walks of life.

There's quite a menu of snacks, Asian and western dishes, desserts, drinks, and they also serve American breakfast. My friend always goes back for the tasty Indian chicken curry with rice and sausage; I myself just had a not so exciting coconut dessert.

Staff works hard and moves quickly. 

Foodland Supermarket
Soi Sridan 4, Srinakarin Road
02 383 3313

Monday, May 15, 2017

Krua Mae Sri Ruen | ครัวแม่ศรีเรือน **

"Food so so, and those flies and cats didn't help"
Went here for dinner with a Thai friend. Nice, wooden seating outside with some green along busy Rama 9 Road. A pity about the flies, and around 5 cats were begging for food while we were eating.

The food was far too mild. Our crab noodles in gravy (rad na) were tasteless; the fried fish itself delicious, but served with an unbalanced mix of salty, sweet and sour without the mandatory spicy; the taste of the pomelo with chicken salad (yam som-o) was overwhelming chicken and the curry too sweet. If Thai food is usually too spicy for you, this may be a place for you. We won't be back.

346 Pradit Manutham Road 
02 933 6361

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Fuji Restaurant, Seacon Square **

"Not recommended"
My experiences at other Fuji branches were good, but here the food was not so great; our takoyaki was not hot enough and my salmon set had big pieces of fat and fish bones on it. My friends thin-sliced beef and sushi set was okay. The only tasty dishes we had were the delicious avocado salad and the steamed egg.

Staff was friendly but sloppy. They roughyl distributed the various bowls of our sets randomly over the table and forgot the steamed egg that was part of my friend's set. The tables at the window have a nice view over the shopping mall, but that didn't make up for it.

Seacon Square, 5th floor
904 M.6, Srinakarin Road
02 721 9525, 02 721 9526 

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Mitsumori of Tokyo ****

“A pleasure to eat” 
Yes, nice minimalist atmosphere, lots of Japanese customers even on a Tuesday night, excellent food. The cold fresh tofu was a dream, the various grilled chicken sticks and pate delicious and my friends loved the soba in sour sauce and the pickled vegetables. The big bottles of Kirin beer went well with the food. Friendly and fast service.

47/1 Sukhumvit soi 23
02 640 8283

Friday, April 7, 2017

Sri Trat Restaurant | ศรีตราด ****

“Nice but pricey food”

The big restaurant looks nice in browns and greens with vintage Thai details. The lighting was a bit weird with, some guests at each table sitting right under spotlights and the others in the dark.

The food was tasty, but I can't judge the authenticity. My local friends called the food "wild", of stronger taste and less sophisticated than regular Thai food. We tried 4 dishes, of which the pork in flower leaves was my favourite. The minced pork with salty fish was fine, tumeric fried fish a bit boring and the cumin chicken very spicy. All served with unlimited hom malee rice for 40 baht each. 

Both food and drinks were quite pricey. Service was friendly but very servile, and not always up to speed yet.

Reservations are a must; this was our second try to eat here. When we left, we saw that most empty tables were reserved.

Sukhumvit 33 
02 088 0968 

Sunday, April 2, 2017

Marugame Seimen, Seacon Square **

We don't often run into a Japanes self-service restaurant, but here's one we found in Seacon Square shopping mall. The simple furniture and decoration looked okay, but the uncleared tables looked a mess.

The main choices are Udon or Tempura. We both chose the Sauce Kastudon (Pork) set, which I regretted at once as the pork was either double or over fried and the crust was enormous and hard, and there was just a little bit of sauce. The accompanying salad and seaweed soup were fine, and 1 glass of (Est) cola was also part of the deal.

The staff was overworked and under pressure. They didn't have time to clear the tables and ran around desperately, trying to keep up with the orders (and failing) while it wasn't even crowded. I won't be back.

Seacon Square, 4th floor
904 M.6, Srinakarin Road
02 720 2997 

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Yoshinoya, Central World ****

Japanese fastfood restaurant Yoshinoya pleasantly surprised me with the taste of the food.  I visited the branch at Central World, but there are many branches in Bangkok and a few outside.

I enjoyed my spicy yakiniko rice bowl with beef set, which came with a fresh salad and miso soup. Besides the usual condiments, there was also unlimited free pickled ginger on the table. I had my meal with hot tea.

Service was friendly, bilingual and fast, prices reasonable.

6th floor, Central World
999/9 Rama 1 Road
02 663 3888

Monday, March 27, 2017

Khua Kling Pak Sod Restaurant ***

“Good food, but pretentious and overpriced”

I've been here a few times with friends who love the place. The food is good (with some very spicy dishes), but it isn't better than you can get on the street in e.g. the Ramkhamhaeng area, the portions are small, and both food and drinks are expensive.

It's so popular with hi-so people that reservations are recommended. They don't accept credit cards, so bring lots of cash. Service is friendly and fast enough.

98/1 Soi Thonglor 5 
Sukhumvit 55 
02 185 3977, 086 053 7779, in English 081 811 5458 

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ootoya, Central Bangna ****

Ootaya is a minimalist-style Japanese restaurant with many branches all over Thailand. After exploring the newly renovated Central Bangna shopping mall, we sat down in one of the comfortable booths of Ootaya.

My friend had the fried pork loin & egg soup, I myself an amazing pan friend grilled chicken salad. We shared the pumpkin croquette that came with radish and a delicious ginger sauce. We chose a set, which means the main dish came with rice, soup, pickles and a steamed egg. There's a free refill of rice. Hot and cold green tea are also free, in unlimited quantities, other drinks including beers available. Some of the desserts looked great, but we were too full to try some.

Service was friendly and attentive, but staff was loitering a bit too much in our area; prices were reasonable.

Central Bangna 5th floor room 505
585 Bangna-Trad Road

Sunday, March 5, 2017

Jae Oh Khao Tom Pet | เจ๊โอว ข้าวต้มเป็ด ****

Long wait, excellent food” 

Unless you reserve, you're in for a long wait at this Chinese-Thai restaurant. It's a simple, air conditioned place with a small terrace outside. 

We had a variety of dishes, of which the spicy salmon salad (yam pla salmon) was the very best. Another winner was fresh crab fried with chili, but that didn't come cheap. Our other dishes like abalone with Chinese radish, kale with crispy pork, cabbage shrimp and a few others were all excellent. Our beers tasted well. 

Service was friendly enough but not very fast. Most dishes were reasonably priced. 

Charat Meuang Road 
064 118 5888

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Hungry Nerd Siam ***

“Affordable steaks and fish 'n chips”

The restaurant is located in a brightly-lit air conditioned space in a small entertainment area.

The menu offers a range of beef, pork, chicken and few fish steak, salads, french fries, pasta etc. Our fish 'n chips and dolly steak, served with fries, some salad and not enough sauce, tasted well enough, and they also served beer.

Staff was friendly, but there weren't enough of them even though the place only half full.

Coco walk, BTS Rajthevee
02 656 5550

Mega Bangna 2nd-floor Food Court, Bang Phli, Samut Prakan ***


Classy food court on the second floor of Mega Bangna, an enormous shopping mall a bit out of town. Small tiles on the floor, plants and wooden furniture make it a pleasant place to sit.

There's a wide choice of Thai and foreign food, including Japanese and Indian. My tasty Japanese bento box wasn't very expensive (around $4), and my friend's egg and noodles was excellent. Both came with free miso soup of course. Soft drinks and herbal drinks available.

As usual in food courts you buy a cash card in advance, pay your food, and receive the leftover balance back. 

Mega Bangna 2nd floor
38 Moo 6 Bangna-Trad km. 8 
Bang Phli, Samut Prakan

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Yi Yuan, Prachachoen | ญีญวณ ***

Yi Yuan is a very popular place for family dinner in the north of Bangkok. Decoration is simple and there are booths as well as tables. Parts of the walls have been unfinished for years at some places, and I think it doesn't look too nice.

The food is what you'd expect of Vietnamese food. We wrapped our naem niang with vegetables and its condiments with the free vegetables in the thin pancakes, always a treat. We also had the traditional noodle soup with pork (fer moo yoh), which was okay, and a crispy pancake wrap with vegetables and peanuts (banh xeo), which was better. 

Service was attentive, but the food took quite a while to arrive. I wouldn't get out of my way for this one. 

Opposite Prachachoen Police Station 
226 Thetsaban Rangrak Tai Road 
02 920 4090 

Monday, February 6, 2017

Nguan Lang Wang, Fortune Town | ง้วนหลังวัง ***

After picking up my computer from the repair shop, I had a quick meal at Thai fast food restaurant Nugan Lang Wang in the basement of Fortune Town. The place looks simple with wooden furniture and tiles on the floor.

The menu offers a variety of mostly noodle dishes. I had the shrimp wonton noodle with duck, which was served with a small bowl of soup. The taste was okay, although it was all a bit too oily for my taste and the portion was small. For drinks there are smoothies and a few types of soft drink.

Service was friendly and quite fast.

Basement Fortune Town
1 Ratchadaphisek Rd
02 642 1193
Reviews on wongnai.com

Boon Restaurant | บุญโภชนา | 食得福 ****

“Excellent Chinese food, not impressed with service and cleanliness” 

We tried 5-6 dishes including a whole boiled chicken (a huge portion, delicious), an excellent spicy fried tofu and fried kidney; the only dish that wasn't worth it was the vegetable soup, which was too salty. They have a whole range of frog dishes, but we didn't try any. 

Don't go if you appreciate service and hygiene. We were ignored when we came in, service was slow and not very friendly, they forgot one of our dishes, didn't bring the extra cutlery we asked for, the table was sticky and there were food leftovers under our table.

152/18-19 Silom Road
02 237 2764, 081 721 1368

Monday, January 30, 2017

Heiroku Sushi, Mega Bangna, Bang Phli, Samut Prakan ****

Attracted by the moving belt with small dishes and desserts, we sat down at this open restaurant. There's wooden furniture including some seats right at the belt.  

You can just grab your choices from the belt as well as order from the extensive menu. Price of each dish depends on the colour of the serving plate. We ended up having 9 dishes, with our favourite grilled mackerel battleship roll twice. Also excellent were the grilled pork rolls and the swordfish salad. All dishes were freshly made by the cooks operating inside the belt-loop. Hot and cold tea is free in unlimited quantities, and there's quite a range of desserts.

Service was not very fast. We also had to ask for our refills every time and staff forgot to prepare one of the dishes we ordered.

Mega Bangna
38 Moo 6 Bangna-Trad km. 8
Bang Phli, Samut Prakan
Facebook

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

MK Restaurant @Piyarom ***


Once in a while we end up having dinner at one of the branches of MK restaurant. 

MK's especially popular for it's suki hot pot, but usually we're too lazy to prepare our own food. Last night we ended up having a tasty roast duck, Shanghai pak choi vegetables that were a bit too drowned in sauce and and excellent, soft braised beef. Most of the dishes are Chinese and Chinese-Thai.

The drinks menu is full of smoothies, herbal and fruit drinks, but also hot coffee and tea and beer. Their popular desserts menu consists of range of traditional Thai desserts (my Thai friend loves them) and ice cream dishes. 

Service is especially at the beginning fast and friendly, a bit slower for refill or additional orders.

Piyarom Place
3079/25 Soi Priyabud, Sukhumvit Road (between sois 101 and 101/1, next to Tops supermarket)

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Yamazato @The Okura Prestige Bangkok ****

"Okura set lunch"'

Staying at the Okura is out of my budget, but I did have the Gozen set lunch menu with some Japanese friends there. For around 650 baht ($18) each we had a wide range of small dishes including sashimi, tempura, tofu, raw and pickled vegetables, miso soup, etc. For dessert we had fruit and a creamy dish. I enjoyed the food and its variety very much, and my friends obviously do too as they've been coming here for here for lunch regularly.

Location and view are excellent, service is immaculate. Because of the steep price I won't be back any time soon. 

57 Wireless Road (Wittayu Road), Park Ventures Ecoplex
02 687 9000
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g293916-d2624290-r450880113-The_Okura_Prestige_Bangkok-Bangkok.html

Sunday, January 8, 2017

Krua Apsorn, Dinso Road | ครัวอัปษร สาขา ถนนดินสอ ***** ★

“One of the best local food places” 

I've been coming here over the years with both Thai and foreign friends and everyone loves the food. The place isn't much to look at, it's extremely busy and there's usually a queue for dinner. Still, the wonderful old-fashioned Thai food makes it worth the wait.

The last time we had the stir-fried mushrooms, yellow curry with lotus roots (rarely seen anywhere), prawn omelet, baramundi (fish) with celery, sato beans with prawns and minced pork, plus a few more, literally all of them excellent dishes.

Please note that the restaurant closes at 8 pm. They run out of the more popular dishes well before that.

169 Dinso Road, off Ratchadamnoen Road 
02 685 4531, 080 550 0310  

Glur Bangkok | เกลอ แบงคอก ***

“Big-size drinks, no cake, expensive food” 

Met here with some old friends recently for a coffee and a chat. The small cafe looks nice with wooden furniture inside and a terrace outside.

The drip coffee was tasty and my friends' smoothies were good. We'd expected cake, but there wasn't any. The staff was nice enough to let us bring our own. The mostly Thai food was expensive; one of my friends went for an all-day breakfast which was okay.

Staff was friendly but our drinks came very slow, one-by-one, and we were presented with the bill without asking for it.

45 Soi Charoen Krung 50
02 630 5595 

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Moo Cafe | หมู อาหาร และ เครื่องดื่ม ***

Once in a while when passing by, we go for a drink or some simple food at Moo Cafe. It's a hip place with stylish, wooden furniture and natural stone, air conditioned space as well as a terrace outside with lots of green.

Being a cafe, the menu is quite limited and it's not a place to go and share a good meal with friends, but it's a good place to have a drink with some snacks (grilled dried beef, fried chicken, shrimp balls) or a single dish like macaroni or fried rice to fill you up. A small selection of fruit smoothies, coffees and of course beer awaits you.

Service is friendly, prices are reasonable. The owner's 2 dogs can be an additional attraction for dog lovers, especially now that there are puppies around (Dec 2016).

667 / 2-3 Sukhumvit Soi 101 Punnawithi 23 (Sukhumvit soi 101, corner soi 23)
081 174 4471
BTS Punnawithi

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

El Mercado Bangkok ****

“Excellent import food, reasonable prices”

Originally an importer and distributor of fish, cheese, meat products, etc., now also a restaurant where their fresh food is served. 

The house is old and charming, and there's a terrace outside. It's close to the MRT, now a bit dodgy, but an upcoming area. 

Our fresh European mussels served with a huge bowl of french fries, tuna carpaccio, beet root salad and cheese plate were all excellent. The drinks list was long, the beers and wines cheaper than elsewhere. It was very crowded (reservation recommended), so the service was a bit slow, and the local staff was not very knowledgeable. 

490 Soi Phai Sing To, Sukhumvit Soi 16 
02 258 1385

Mee Ja Kin | มีจะกิน ****

My Thai friend’s favourite restaurant in Seaon Square is Mee Ja Kin, where they have an excellent and not expensive khanom jin (fresh rice noodles with side dishes) buffet. 

The wooden furniture is made to look old, there are old Thai photos on the walls and there’s a video loop with old footage of hunters catching wild elephants for domestication. 

For those that are not a fan of khanom jin like myself, there’s a small menu with a series of other dishes. My own favourite is kao kluk kapi, rice mixed with shrimp paste, wrapped in egg, served with small portions of raw onion, small pieces of meat, sausage, raw mano, green beans, cucumber, chile and fresh lime. Refills of trational Thai herbal juices are available, besides some regular drinks, and there’s ice cream for dessert.

2nd floor Season Square, Srinakarin Road
02 720 2649

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Baan Steak | บ้านสเต็ก, Paknam, Samut Prakan (2) ****

“Good steak in cosy house” 

I was a regular visitor when I still worked in the area, and re-visited with my ex-colleague recently. The small restaurant is located on the grounds of a former school, just off main road, with parking space provided. 

The atmosphere inside is simple but homely, with flower-stickers covering the windows. There are only about 10 tables spread out over 2 rooms. There's one table outside for smokers. 

All customers receive the standard free appetiser, fried basil. On the menu western and Thai dishes with a small variety of steaks, and there's icecream for dessert. I recommended the mackerel fish steak, which is served with salad and some fries. Separate salads and soup are also available. All food tastes well.

The waiters friendly and hardworking. The place is very popular at lunchtime, and you may even be turned down at that time unless you arrive before 12.

2  Si Samut Rd. (opposite Samut Prakan Deputy Governor House)
Pak Nam
02 389 5333

Monday, November 14, 2016

Ban Khun Mae | บ้านคุณแม่ ***

“Focused on tourists” 

Typical tourist place decorated in Thai style, with nice atmosphere, low-key live traditional music and okay Thai food in small portions at high prices. They refused to take our reservation but there was enough space when we arrived. Service was friendly but a bit slow. 

458/6-9 Siam Square Soi 8, Rama 1 Road 
02 250 1952-3 

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Chan & Yupa Tearoom ***

“Not my cup of tea” 

If you like romantic you're in the right place, and with a beautiful garden too. Rattan furniture with artificial flowers on the well decked-out table. 

Unfortunately everything is quite expensive with most dishes at least 200 THB, and tax and service charge are not even included on the menu. 

Our coffee and cake were good, our scones okay. A free glass of water on the side would have been nice with all that sweetness.

It was very difficult to get the attention of the staff, even though it wasn't crowded at all. 

2 Soi Sukhumvit 10, Sukhumvit Road 
081 846 9898 

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Bangkok Okinawa Restaurant Kinjo | ร้านอาหารโอกินาวา คินโจ | バンコク沖縄家庭料理&民謡居酒屋金城) ****


“Mostly tasty food, a pity they'd ran out of (squid) ink”

The first time I visited I tried their famous black noodles, Ikasumi Yakisoba, a fun dish that temporarily stains your mouth and teeth black from squid ink. When I went back they'd unfortunately ran out of ink, but luckily they have a very wide selection of other choices. 

We tried an excellent grilled mushroom dish, yakisoba fried noodles, pork nigiri (a heavy dish made of spam, fried egg and rice, not recommended), fermented soybean salad (a bit too slimy for my taste) and a few other dishes. Their fixed sets are very reasonably priced at around 200 THB, We had one of the several types of beer available and some hot tea. 

Service is friendly and active, food arrived quite fast. 

Visited October 2016
24/1 Soi Sukhumvit 69
02 711 0536

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Caturday Cat Cafe ***

“Fun for cat lovers - if you can interest the cats to play” 

I enjoyed playing with the cats, but most of them were not in the mood to play and they tried to evade my stroking. Using pieces of wire, a little ball and other stimulants hardly got any of them interested. Our drinks and cake were pricey, which is fair enough, and there are souvenirs and special cat snacks available for sale. I assume those will get them interested.

Service was friendly but a bit slow. Obviously the cats are their prime interest.

Co-Co Walk Plaza, Phaya Thai Rd.
02 656 5247
Facebook

Monday, September 26, 2016

The Artist's House • Bangkok Art and Culture Centre ****

Finding ourselves hungry in the BACC we decided for a quick meal in this cosy, small restaurant annex gallery with artistic decorations and wooden furniture.

They just have a few dishes to choose from (2 types of noodle dishes, 2 types of fresh spring rolls), but the food was excellent, plus there were some healthy drink choices like rosella and guava juice.

Friendly service, cheapish food and drinks.

After the meal we bought quite a few design postcards (just 5 THB ($0.15) each) and admired the pottery and other handmade gifts and objects on sale in the gallery.

4th floor Bangkok Art and Culture Centre 
939 Rama 1 Road

Siam Food Court | สยาม ฟู้ดคอร์ด ***

“Good for a quick meal in between your shopping” This air-conditioned little food court is right in between Siam Square and MBK shopping areas, at the base of the footbridge to MBK. 

There are a few simple shops serving basic Thai food like noodle soup and chicken on rice, one with with suki, salmon steak and some other Japanese-style dishes and there's one shop selling drinks (smoothies, soda with lemonade, water and soft drinks). My salmon steak tasted well and it came with French fries and some salad for just 55 baht (less than $2). 

Like in most food courts in Thailand you have to buy a cash card to pay with. The remaining balance will be refunded when you return the card. The court is self-service and the food was ready fast.

Siam Square
Open until 8 pm

Ploendee Restaurant | ร้านอาหารบ้านเพลินดี *****

A few Thai colleagues and I went for lunch at this nicely located restaurant next to a small canal with view of the wooden houses at the other side. The outside restaurant is big and has lots of tables, mostly wood and stone, but there's still a cosy atmosphere because of some green and the low roof.

The food is excellent and not very expensive. We had for example som tam seafood (the best!), fried fish with garlic, and yam tua plu, a vegetable salad. Staff was friendly and service was quite fast.

113/1 Soi Rim Khlong Mon, Arun Amarin Road (ซอย ริมคลองมอญ ถนน อรุณอัมรินทร์), Bangkok
Phone: 02 891 2967
Open Mon-Sat 11 am-11 pm

Le Dalat Restaurant | เลอ ดาลัด ****

“Excellent food, nice decoration, but a bit crude”

I really enjoyed the food, the Vietnamese decoration was beautiful, staff were dressed in original Vietnamese clothes and the garden was pretty. 

However, my beer in a glass of a naked woman and crude "fun" decorations in both bathrooms were a bit much. Why an exhibitionist doll exposing his p*nis, a signboard with different breast shapes or a model of a butt with a finger pointing to the *sshole in a classy restaurant like this? 

Staff was friendly and fast. 

14 Sukhumvit 23
02 661 7967-8
http://www.bkkmenu.com/restaurant/Le-Dalat

Sunday, August 7, 2016

P Kitchen | พี. คิชเช่น ***

“Tasty Thai food, inattentive service” 

The restaurant has a wide variety of not very expensive Thai dishes on the menu, of which we tried 4-5 dishes. The food was quite good. 

We sat inside in the air-conditioned space, which turned out to be a bad idea with different sets of kids running around and making a lot of noise. Next time we'll sit on the terrace outside. 

It was difficult to attract the staff's attention, and when they finally came they tried to take away dishes while we were still eating from them. 

11/3 Sukhumvit Soi 18
02 663 4950
Facebook

Thursday, May 26, 2016

101 Sports Bar ***

“A good place to hang out with foreign friends”

This open bar in higher Sukhumvit is a nice place if you're looking for other foreigners to share a beer or play a game of pool or darts. Customers are mostly foreigners living in the area, some with their Thai wives or girlfriends and their kids (!), and a few local Thai coming to watch a sports game on TV or have a drink. 

The beer's not very expensive and they serve big bottles (120 baht, $3.5). On the menu some nice pub food (pies and curries) and some Thai food. The Thai few dishes I tried were no more than okay.

The service if friendly. The live music (I think only at the weekends) is too loud, but if you like a family atmosphere this is the right place to go.

Sukhumvit 101, opposite soi 21, behind the 711
083 687 3565 
Facebook

Pun-ya (Pan Ya) | ร้านอาหารปั้นหยา, Nonthaburi ****

“Excellent Thai food at the riverside just north of Bangkok”

The family-run restaurant is a traditional wooden house with a big terrace next to the Chao Praya river. The wind is fresh, the view is nice.

We had a pla yam kan (a spicy vegetable salad), som cha om (spicy shrimp soup), krapong tod nam (friend fish) and fried vegetables and they were all excellent. There's no English menu but plenty of photos to choose from. They serve soft drinks, beers and whiskey, etc.. Unfortunately they don't do desserts, and not even a coffee was to be had.

Service was friendly, prices reasonable.

43, Soi Sam Luang, Phiboon Songkhram Rd.
Nonthaburi
02 526 1554
Facebook

Sathan Tak-akat Bang Pu | ร้านอาหาร สถานตากอากาศบางปู (ศาลาสุขใจ), Samut Prakan ****

“Excellent, affordable food with beautiful view” 

The walk along the pier to the "Sala Sukjay" seaside restaurant was already a pleasure with lots of seagulls to feed (in the right season) and nice views of the mangrove coast and the Gulf of Thailand. The restaurant is huge, with air-conditioned space as well as covered and open terraces with sea view outside. 

We had the wild boar, which was okay, a spicy eggplant salad, fried fish stomach with crab, and razor clams with bell pepper, all of which were excellent. Water, soft drinks and beer are available. We had a Thai dessert and a coffee; there are also ice cream and fruits on the menu. 

As the restaurant is owned by the army, the prices are very reasonable, and the service is friendly, professional and quite fast. NOTE: the place is open from 10 am to 8 pm. There are several small snack shops and a souvenir shop at the entrance of the restaurant, and you can take a walk in the mangrove through the Bang Pu Education Nature Centre at the pier entrance at certain hours. 

164 Moo 2, Bang Pu Seaside Resort, Sukhumvit Road
Bang Pu Mai, Samut Prakan
02 323 1213

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Crown Kitchen ***

“Nice interior, friendly service, average food” 

This almost 40-year old restaurant has a nice 70ties interior on one floor with mezzanine. The atmosphere could be nicer with the TV off. 

Maybe the dishes were intended that way (Thai-Chinese food tends to be quite oily), or we may have been unlucky, but all our 3 dishes were far too oily and quite salty and we didn't finish our food. The bottled beer tasted well. 

Service was friendly and fast, prices reasonable.

326 Krungkasem Road
02 282 3188
Facebook

Sizzler - Seacon Square ***

“Excellent salad bar” 

When I feel like a good salad, Sizzler is the place to go. The unlimited salad bar has lots of fresh raw and cooked vegetables, ready to eat salads, soups, quail eggs, some pasta, and some nice desserts (chocolate mousse!) including fruit. 

In the past I've tried several of the meat dishes on the menu but didn't like any of them: the meat is too soft, and there's not much taste. The fish 'n chips are okay. Meat or fish is served with a choice of French fries or baked potato and a tasty slice of buttered thick toast. The salad bar is included too. Refill softdrinks are affordable, and a pot of tea is available. 

Service is friendly, but sometimes we have to wait long for a refill. The main dish is usually slow, but of course you can delve into the salad bar right away so it's not a problem. 

Seacon Scquare
4F, 904 M.6, Srinakarin Road
061 421 1980
http://www.sizzler.co.th/en/

Kuang Heng - Pratunam Chicken & Rice *****

“Best fresh spring rolls in Bangkok” 

I've been coming here for many years for the freshest and softest spring rolls (poh pia sod) and pork sateh served with peanut sauce, sliced cucumber, onions and chili. My friend loves the fish stomach soup (krapoh pla) and the Hainanese chicken on rice (khao man kay). That's the whole menu as far as I know. 

 The place isn't much to look at, with tables outside on the pavement next to a busy street, but the food is well worth it. Service is friendly and fast, prices quite cheap. There's water, soft drink and beer, so a good place to sit if you can find a table. It's open 24/7. 

Viva Tapas Bar and Restaurant **

“Nice place for people-watching, mediocre and expensive food” 

Nice location in the heart of things, a good place for people-watching. A pity the food was no more than mediocre. One friend had a tasteless salad with cream dressing, another one spaghetti that needed a lot more sauce, served with chewy bread, and I had to throw away half of my cooked mussels as inedible. The draft beer tasted well, but everything was expensive. 

Staff was friendly if we could catch them, and service was okay. 

Imoya (2) **** ★

“Atmospheric place with lots of good dishes” 

My favourite Japanse vintage restaurant has a wide range of Japanese and fusion dishes. On arrival all personnel shouts a greeting, and you always get a free cheap appetiser (you can say no) and a hot towel. 

Sushi, sashimi, curries, soups, teriyaki, but also the Japanese version of asparagus in bacon and French fries are available. The food is not expensive, and many dishes are tasty. A wide variety of drinks, including of course hot tea, various sakes and beers. Regulars have their own bottle that is kept for them between visits. 

 The wooden furniture, with public space as well as separate walled-off areas where you take off your shoes and sit on a low bench or the floor, and the vintage Japanese decorations, make you feel like you went back in time. Smoking is allowed in the floor-seating area.