I've eaten with friends and colleagues in all these restaurants in (greater) Bangkok. I'm no food expert, but I do know what I like! Many of my reviews are also published in Japanese on newsclip.be タイ発ニュース速報. Whether you're after Thai food, or craving a Mexican taco, Japanese buffet or fish & chips, you can find it all here.
(2016: I'm adding my Tripadvisor reviews here)

Sunday, August 7, 2016

P Kitchen (พี. คิชเช่น) ***

“Tasty Thai food, inattentive service”
4 of 5 stars
4 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars4 of 5 stars4 of 5 starsReviewed June 6, 2016
The restaurant has a wide variety of not very expensive Thai dishes on the menu, of which we tried 4-5 dishes. The food was quite good.

We sat inside in the air-conditioned space, which turned out to be a bad idea with different sets of kids running around and making a lot of noise. Next time we'll sit on the terrace outside.

It was difficult to attract the staff's attention, and when they finally came they tried to take away dishes while we were still eating from them.

Thursday, May 26, 2016

101 Sports Bar ***

“A good place to hang out with foreign friends”
3 of 5 starsReviewed May 15, 2016
This open bar in higher Sukhumvit is a nice place if you're looking for other foreigners to share a beer or play a game of pool or darts. Customers are mostly foreigners living in the area, some with their Thai wives or girlfriends and their kids (!), and a few local Thai coming to watch a sports game on TV or have a drink.

The beer's not very expensive and they serve big bottles (120 baht, $3.5). On the menu some nice pub food (pies and curries) and some Thai food. The Thai few dishes I tried were no more than okay. The service if friendly.

The live music (I think only at the weekends) is too loud, but if you like a family atmosphere this is the right place to go.

Visited January 2016

Pun-ya (Pan Ya) ( ร้านอาหารปั้นหยา), Nonthaburi ****

“Excellent Thai food at the riverside just north of Bangkok”
4 of 5 starsReviewed May 5, 2016

The family-run restaurant is a traditional wooden house with a big terrace next to the Chao Praya river. The wind is fresh, the view is nice.

We had a pla yam kan (a spicy vegetable salad), som cha om (spicy shrimp soup), krapong tod nam (friend fish) and fried vegetables and they were all excellent. There's no English menu but plenty of photos to choose from. They serve soft drinks, beers and whiskey, etc.. Unfortunately they don't do desserts, and not even a coffee was to be had.

Service was friendly, prices reasonable.

Visited May 2016

Sathan Tak-akat Bang Pu ๖ร้านอาหาร สถานตากอากาศบางปู (ศาลาสุขใจ), Samut Prakan ****

“Excellent, affordable food with beautiful view”
4 of 5 starsReviewed April 6, 2016
The walk along the pier to the "Sala Sukjay" seaside restaurant was already a pleasure with lots of seagulls to feed (in the right season) and nice views of the mangrove coast and the Gulf of Thailand.

The restaurant is huge, with air-conditioned space as well as covered and open terraces with sea view outside.

We had the wild boar, which was okay, a spicy eggplant salad, fried fish stomach with crab, and razor clams with bell pepper, all of which were excellent. Water, soft drinks and beer are available. We had a Thai dessert and a coffee; there are also ice cream and fruits on the menu.

As the restaurant is owned by the army, the prices are very reasonable, and the service is friendly, professional and quite fast. NOTE: the place is open from 10 am to 8 pm.

There are several small snack shops and a souvenir shop at the entrance of the restaurant, and you can take a walk in the mangrove through the Bang Pu Education Nature Centre at the pier entrance at certain hours.
  • Visited April 2016

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Crown Kitchen ***

“Nice interior, friendly service, average food”
3 of 5 starsReviewed April 2, 2016
This almost 40-year old restaurant has a nice 70ties interior on one floor with mezzanine. The atmosphere could be nicer with the TV off.

Maybe the dishes were intended that way (Thai-Chinese food tends to be quite oily), or we may have been unlucky, but all our 3 dishes were far too oily and quite salty and we didn't finish our food. The bottled beer tasted well.

Service was friendly and fast, prices reasonable.

Sizzler - Seacon Square ***

“Excellent salad bar”
3 of 5 starsReviewed March 13, 2016
When I feel like a good salad, Sizzler is the place to go. The unlimited salad bar has lots of fresh raw and cooked vegetables, ready to eat salads, soups, quail eggs, some pasta, and some nice desserts (chocolate mousse!) including fruit.

In the past I've tried several of the meat dishes on the menu but didn't like any of them: the meat is too soft, and there's not much taste. The fish 'n chips are okay. Meat or fish is served with a choice of French fries or baked potato and a tasty slice of buttered thick toast. The salad bar is included too.

Refill softdrinks are affordable, and a pot of tea is available.

Service is friendly, but sometimes we have to wait long for a refill. The main dish is usually slow, but of course you can delve into the salad bar right away so it's not a problem.

Kuang Heng - Pratunam Chicken & Rice *****

“Best fresh spring rolls in Bangkok”
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 11, 2016
I've been coming here for many years for the freshest and softest spring rolls (poh pia sod) and pork sateh served with peanut sauce, sliced cucumber, onions and chili. My friend loves the fish stomach soup (krapoh pla) and the Hainanese chicken on rice (khao man kay). That's the whole menu as far as I know.

The place isn't much to look at, with tables outside on the pavement next to a busy street, but the food is well worth it. Service is friendly and fast, prices quite cheap.

There's water, soft drink and beer, so a good place to sit if you can find a table. It's open 24/7.


Visited March 2016

Viva Tapas Bar and Restaurant **

“Nice place for people-watching, mediocre and expensive food”
2 of 5 starsReviewed February 25, 2016

Nice location in the heart of things, a good place for people-watching.

A pity the food was no more than mediocre. One friend had a tasteless salad with cream dressing, another one spaghetti that needed a lot more sauce, served with chewy bread, and I had to throw away half of my cooked mussels as inedible. The draft beer tasted well, but everything was expensive.

Staff was friendly if we could catch them, and service was okay.


Visited February 2016

Imoya ****

“Atmospheric place with lots of good dishes”
4 of 5 starsReviewed February 22, 2016
My favourite Japanse vintage restaurant has a wide range of Japanese and fusion dishes.

On arrival all personnel shouts a greeting, and you always get a free appetiser and a hot towel. Sushi, sashimi, curries, soups, teriyaki, but also the Japanese version of asparagus in bacon and French fries are available. The food is not expensive, and many dishes are tasty. A wide variety of drinks, including of course hot tea, various sakes and beers. Regulars have their own bottle that is kept for them between visits.

The wooden furniture, with public space as well as separate walled-off areas where you take off your shoes and sit on a low bench or the floor, and the vintage Japanese decorations, make you feel like you went back in time.

Smoking is allowed in the floor-seating area.

Visited February 2016

Best Beef ****

“Good food for a nice price”
4 of 5 starsReviewed February 17, 2016
The place is a huge open-air barn with good ventilation, at least a 100 tables, a queue with people waiting to be seated and a parking problem.

All you can eat in 2 hours for just 230 THB ($7) or around 400 THB ($12) including beer. The food is a choice of maybe 40 dishes, including 4 types of beef (the tongue is excellent), some pork, chicken, seafood, mushrooms, salad and vegetables, in short, enough to make a healthy meal on your own little cooking plate.

Service is everywhere, fast and friendly.

Tawandang German Brewery ****

“Entertaining night out”
4 of 5 starsReviewed February 7, 2016
A short taxi ride away from Asok BTS station lies this enormous German beer house that brews its own beers.

Our food (pork knuckle, various spicy salads, fresh oysters) was pricey but tasted well, our big towers of lager beer tasty. The dark beer was so-so.

Being a Tawan Daeng (red sun), the place is a big, dark barn with wooden furniture and a continuous stage show. The performance varied from veteran Thai singer Chanchana and a series of young male and female singers with lots of dancers to a drinking game and tacky dressed-up performers. Unfortunately they didn't play many songs-for-life (Thai country songs), normally the signature music in Tawan Daengs, although most songs were Thai.

The audience distributed their 100-baht bills to the performers generously, and eventually started dancing along creating a great atmosphere.

Doo Dee Siam ****

“Delicious Thai food at central location”
4 of 5 starsReviewed February 2, 2016
I've been coming back to his restaurant on and off for over 10 years. They've moved a few times, but now they're back on 2 floors at their original location at Siam soi 4.

It's not very atmospheric, but the food is always delicious, and during the day the place is very popular with locals and tourists alike. My favourites are the tom yam noodles (spicy and sweet) and yam ponlamai, a spicy fruit salad, nowadays served in a cabbage leaf, and I always drink their chrysanthemum drink, a sweet yellow drink made of flowers. With friends I've shared some other dishes like po pia sod (spring rolls) and they were good too. Prices are reasonable.

Service is friendly and quick. They have an English menu, but don't speak much English.





  • Visited February 2016 
    • https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g293916-d7806418-r344520845-Doo_Dee_Siam-Bangkok.html#

    Hemingway's Bangkok Garden Bar & Restaurant ****

    “Good food at relaxing location”
    4 of 5 starsReviewed January 31, 2016
    This old teak wood house from the 1920's has various seating areas on 2 floors where you can enjoy its classic interior or the lush garden.

    The menu is international. Some dishes are very generous and can be shared. We had an excellent fish 'n chips (well, the fish was great), a tasty beetroot salad, meat balls and fried calamari that were a bit dry. Drinks are cheap during the extensive happy hours, and still affordable after.

    Minuses are the queues (reserve at the weekend!) and the many special rules for e.g. big groups and Sundays. During my previous visit there was a very loud event going on upstairs.

    10thirtycafe ***

    “Trendy cafe with limited menu”
    3 of 5 starsReviewed January 28, 2016
    As the name implies, the place is more of a cafe than a restaurant, although they do serve food as well. The atmosphere is modern with lots of glass, seating inside as well as outdoors with a view of Major Cineplex Ratchayothin.

    The menu covers a limited selection of western and Thai food. We had excellent French fries with garlic sauce, a spicy pork spaghetti and a bacon salad. The food was tasty, but this is not the place to go and share an extensive meal. There's also a counter with a choice of coffees, teas and smoothies and a wide selection of cakes.

    Service was friendly but mostly absent.

    Vientiane Kitchen ***

    “If you don't have a chance to explore the real North-East”
    3 of 5 starsReviewed January 13, 2016
    It may have been original once (I came a few times more than 10 years ago), but now it's just a place for tourists to get a taste of the food and culture of the North-East.

    The decorations and the show (dance, song, traditional instruments) provide for a local atmosphere, except when they sing some Japanese (!) songs for the many groups of Japanese, and unfortunately they ask the audience to join them in some games and (fake) ceremonies.

    My Thai friends thought that most of the food was okay, only the som tam and yam (spicy salad) were a bit off: one was far too sweet, another one so spicy it was inedible even for them. I myself enjoyed several types of fish, vegetable dishes and tongue, and for fun you could try some really local dishes like friend egg with ants eggs and fried frog.

    Prices are quite high, service is excellent.

    Mother May I ****

    “Excellent food, small portions, unprofessional service”
    4 of 5 starsReviewed January 10, 2016

    This simple and stylish restaurant within walking distance from the skytrain in a quiet soi has excellent Thai food and plenty of choice on the menu. The food is quite affordable, but portions are small.

    Unfortunately several of the dishes we ordered were not available, and they just brought us 1 of the 2 desserts we asked for without telling us the other one was not available. Service was quite slow but friendly.

    Visited January 2016

    Hua Seng Hong Restaurant ****

    “Tasty Chinese and Thai-Chinese food”
    4 of 5 starsReviewed January 10, 2016
    The restaurant is conveniently located near BTS Punnawithi, but parking space is scarce.

    Very popular for weekend family dinners, it's a huge, not very cosy place on different levels. The booths near the windows are the best places to sit if you want some privacy.

    The food is tasty, although like all Chinese food often a bit oily and salty, and there's lot of choice in Chinese and Thai dishes, often in different sizes. There are some family sets and they serve seafood and shark fin soup as their signature dishes. My personal favourites are the roast duck and the taro fruit basket.

    Staff is everywhere and quick to serve.

    Monday, February 24, 2014

    King Kong Yakiniku Buffet by Nami

    table grill
    Star full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar full.svgStar empty.svg In the mood some Japanese food, my friend I visited this fixed-price buffet restaurant in Ekamai. For 2 hours you can eat and drink as much as you like from the grill built-in in the tables.

    The 2 floors are decked out simply with black and grey furniture and partitions in between. There's an enormous range of food to choose from varying from fish, squid, mussels and all kinds of meats to giant mushrooms, all served with

    Chabuton Ramen @ Gateway Ekamai

    shio tonkutsu ramen
    Star full.svgStar full.svgStar half.svgStar empty.svgStar empty.svg A easy place for a quick ramen (Japanese noodles) are the 13 or so branches of the Japanese chain Chabuton Ramen, located in many major shopping malls in Bangkok. The Gateway Ekamai branch is fitted with low wooden booths and minimal decoration.

    As the name implies, there's a range of different kinds of ramen (of which we ordered 2) and some other Japanese dishes. The food was okay but not exciting,