I've eaten with friends and colleagues in all these restaurants in (greater) Bangkok. I'm no food expert, but I do know what I like! Many of my older reviews were also published in Japanese on newsclip.be タイ発ニュース速報. Whether you're after Thai food, or craving a Mexican taco, Japanese buffet or fish & chips, you can find it all here.

* A friendly WARNING: restaurants close, change and move regularly, so before you go make sure to check *

Monday, May 15, 2017

Krua Mae Sri Ruen | ครัวแม่ศรีเรือน **

"Food so so, and those flies and cats didn't help"
Went here for dinner with a Thai friend. Nice, wooden seating outside with some green along busy Rama 9 Road. A pity about the flies, and around 5 cats were begging for food while we were eating.

The food was far too mild. Our crab noodles in gravy (rad na) were tasteless; the fried fish itself delicious, but served with an unbalanced mix of salty, sweet and sour without the mandatory spicy; the taste of the pomelo with chicken salad (yam som-o) was overwhelming chicken and the curry too sweet. If Thai food is usually too spicy for you, this may be a place for you. We won't be back.

346 Pradit Manutham Road 
02 933 6361

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Fuji Restaurant, Seacon Square **

"Not recommended"
My experiences at other Fuji branches were good, but here the food was not so great; our takoyaki was not hot enough and my salmon set had big pieces of fat and fish bones on it. My friends thin-sliced beef and sushi set was okay. The only tasty dishes we had were the delicious avocado salad and the steamed egg.

Staff was friendly but sloppy. They roughyl distributed the various bowls of our sets randomly over the table and forgot the steamed egg that was part of my friend's set. The tables at the window have a nice view over the shopping mall, but that didn't make up for it.

Seacon Square, 5th floor
904 M.6, Srinakarin Road
02 721 9525, 02 721 9526 

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Mitsumori of Tokyo ****

“A pleasure to eat” 
Yes, nice minimalist atmosphere, lots of Japanese customers even on a Tuesday night, excellent food. The cold fresh tofu was a dream, the various grilled chicken sticks and pate delicious and my friends loved the soba in sour sauce and the pickled vegetables. The big bottles of Kirin beer went well with the food. Friendly and fast service.

47/1 Sukhumvit soi 23
02 640 8283

Friday, April 7, 2017

Sri Trat Restaurant | ศรีตราด ****

“Nice but pricey food”

The big restaurant looks nice in browns and greens with vintage Thai details. The lighting was a bit weird with, some guests at each table sitting right under spotlights and the others in the dark.

The food was tasty, but I can't judge the authenticity. My local friends called the food "wild", of stronger taste and less sophisticated than regular Thai food. We tried 4 dishes, of which the pork in flower leaves was my favourite. The minced pork with salty fish was fine, tumeric fried fish a bit boring and the cumin chicken very spicy. All served with unlimited hom malee rice for 40 baht each. 

Both food and drinks were quite pricey. Service was friendly but very servile, and not always up to speed yet.

Reservations are a must; this was our second try to eat here. When we left, we saw that most empty tables were reserved.

Sukhumvit 33 
02 088 0968 

Sunday, April 2, 2017

Marugame Seimen, Seacon Square **

We don't often run into a Japanes self-service restaurant, but here's one we found in Seacon Square shopping mall. The simple furniture and decoration looked okay, but the uncleared tables looked a mess.

The main choices are Udon or Tempura. We both chose the Sauce Kastudon (Pork) set, which I regretted at once as the pork was either double or over fried and the crust was enormous and hard, and there was just a little bit of sauce. The accompanying salad and seaweed soup were fine, and 1 glass of (Est) cola was also part of the deal.

The staff was overworked and under pressure. They didn't have time to clear the tables and ran around desperately, trying to keep up with the orders (and failing) while it wasn't even crowded. I won't be back.

Seacon Square, 4th floor
904 M.6, Srinakarin Road
02 720 2997 

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Yoshinoya, Central World ****

Japanese fastfood restaurant Yoshinoya pleasantly surprised me with the taste of the food.  I visited the branch at Central World, but there are many branches in Bangkok and a few outside.

I enjoyed my spicy yakiniko rice bowl with beef set, which came with a fresh salad and miso soup. Besides the usual condiments, there was also unlimited free pickled ginger on the table. I had my meal with hot tea.

Service was friendly, bilingual and fast, prices reasonable.

6th floor, Central World
999/9 Rama 1 Road
02 663 3888

Monday, March 27, 2017

Khua Kling Pak Sod Restaurant ***

“Good food, but pretentious and overpriced”

I've been here a few times with friends who love the place. The food is good (with some very spicy dishes), but it isn't better than you can get on the street in e.g. the Ramkhamhaeng area, the portions are small, and both food and drinks are expensive.

It's so popular with hi-so people that reservations are recommended. They don't accept credit cards, so bring lots of cash. Service is friendly and fast enough.

98/1 Soi Thonglor 5 
Sukhumvit 55 
02 185 3977, 086 053 7779, in English 081 811 5458 

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ootoya, Central Bangna ****

Ootaya is a minimalist-style Japanese restaurant with many branches all over Thailand. After exploring the newly renovated Central Bangna shopping mall, we sat down in one of the comfortable booths of Ootaya.

My friend had the fried pork loin & egg soup, I myself an amazing pan friend grilled chicken salad. We shared the pumpkin croquette that came with radish and a delicious ginger sauce. We chose a set, which means the main dish came with rice, soup, pickles and a steamed egg. There's a free refill of rice. Hot and cold green tea are also free, in unlimited quantities, other drinks including beers available. Some of the desserts looked great, but we were too full to try some.

Service was friendly and attentive, but staff was loitering a bit too much in our area; prices were reasonable.

Central Bangna 5th floor room 505
585 Bangna-Trad Road

Sunday, March 5, 2017

Jae Oh Khao Tom Pet | เจ๊โอว ข้าวต้มเป็ด ****

Long wait, excellent food” 

Unless you reserve, you're in for a long wait at this Chinese-Thai restaurant. It's a simple, air conditioned place with a small terrace outside. 

We had a variety of dishes, of which the spicy salmon salad (yam pla salmon) was the very best. Another winner was fresh crab fried with chili, but that didn't come cheap. Our other dishes like abalone with Chinese radish, kale with crispy pork, cabbage shrimp and a few others were all excellent. Our beers tasted well. 

Service was friendly enough but not very fast. Most dishes were reasonably priced. 

Charat Meuang Road 
064 118 5888

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Hungry Nerd Siam ***

“Affordable steaks and fish 'n chips”

The restaurant is located in a brightly-lit air conditioned space in a small entertainment area.

The menu offers a range of beef, pork, chicken and few fish steak, salads, french fries, pasta etc. Our fish 'n chips and dolly steak, served with fries, some salad and not enough sauce, tasted well enough, and they also served beer.

Staff was friendly, but there weren't enough of them even though the place only half full.

Coco walk, BTS Rajthevee
02 656 5550

Mega Bangna 2nd-floor Food Court, Bang Phli, Samut Prakan ***


Classy food court on the second floor of Mega Bangna, an enormous shopping mall a bit out of town. Small tiles on the floor, plants and wooden furniture make it a pleasant place to sit.

There's a wide choice of Thai and foreign food, including Japanese and Indian. My tasty Japanese bento box wasn't very expensive (around $4), and my friend's egg and noodles was excellent. Both came with free miso soup of course. Soft drinks and herbal drinks available.

As usual in food courts you buy a cash card in advance, pay your food, and receive the leftover balance back. 

Mega Bangna 2nd floor
38 Moo 6 Bangna-Trad km. 8 
Bang Phli, Samut Prakan

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Yi Yuan, Prachachoen | ญีญวณ ***

Yi Yuan is a very popular place for family dinner in the north of Bangkok. Decoration is simple and there are booths as well as tables. Parts of the walls have been unfinished for years at some places, and I think it doesn't look too nice.

The food is what you'd expect of Vietnamese food. We wrapped our naem niang with vegetables and its condiments with the free vegetables in the thin pancakes, always a treat. We also had the traditional noodle soup with pork (fer moo yoh), which was okay, and a crispy pancake wrap with vegetables and peanuts (banh xeo), which was better. 

Service was attentive, but the food took quite a while to arrive. I wouldn't get out of my way for this one. 

Opposite Prachachoen Police Station 
226 Thetsaban Rangrak Tai Road 
02 920 4090 

Monday, February 6, 2017

Nguan Lang Wang, Fortune Town | ง้วนหลังวัง ***

After picking up my computer from the repair shop, I had a quick meal at Thai fast food restaurant Nugan Lang Wang in the basement of Fortune Town. The place looks simple with wooden furniture and tiles on the floor.

The menu offers a variety of mostly noodle dishes. I had the shrimp wonton noodle with duck, which was served with a small bowl of soup. The taste was okay, although it was all a bit too oily for my taste and the portion was small. For drinks there are smoothies and a few types of soft drink.

Service was friendly and quite fast.

Basement Fortune Town
1 Ratchadaphisek Rd
02 642 1193
Reviews on wongnai.com

Boon Restaurant | บุญโภชนา | 食得福 ****

“Excellent Chinese food, not impressed with service and cleanliness” 

We tried 5-6 dishes including a whole boiled chicken (a huge portion, delicious), an excellent spicy fried tofu and fried kidney; the only dish that wasn't worth it was the vegetable soup, which was too salty. They have a whole range of frog dishes, but we didn't try any. 

Don't go if you appreciate service and hygiene. We were ignored when we came in, service was slow and not very friendly, they forgot one of our dishes, didn't bring the extra cutlery we asked for, the table was sticky and there were food leftovers under our table.

152/18-19 Silom Road
02 237 2764, 081 721 1368

Monday, January 30, 2017

Heiroku Sushi, Mega Bangna, Bang Phli, Samut Prakan ****

Attracted by the moving belt with small dishes and desserts, we sat down at this open restaurant. There's wooden furniture including some seats right at the belt.  

You can just grab your choices from the belt as well as order from the extensive menu. Price of each dish depends on the colour of the serving plate. We ended up having 9 dishes, with our favourite grilled mackerel battleship roll twice. Also excellent were the grilled pork rolls and the swordfish salad. All dishes were freshly made by the cooks operating inside the belt-loop. Hot and cold tea is free in unlimited quantities, and there's quite a range of desserts.

Service was not very fast. We also had to ask for our refills every time and staff forgot to prepare one of the dishes we ordered.

Mega Bangna
38 Moo 6 Bangna-Trad km. 8
Bang Phli, Samut Prakan
Facebook

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

MK Restaurant @Piyarom ***


Once in a while we end up having dinner at one of the branches of MK restaurant. 

MK's especially popular for it's suki hot pot, but usually we're too lazy to prepare our own food. Last night we ended up having a tasty roast duck, Shanghai pak choi vegetables that were a bit too drowned in sauce and and excellent, soft braised beef. Most of the dishes are Chinese and Chinese-Thai.

The drinks menu is full of smoothies, herbal and fruit drinks, but also hot coffee and tea and beer. Their popular desserts menu consists of range of traditional Thai desserts (my Thai friend loves them) and ice cream dishes. 

Service is especially at the beginning fast and friendly, a bit slower for refill or additional orders.

Piyarom Place
3079/25 Soi Priyabud, Sukhumvit Road (between sois 101 and 101/1, next to Tops supermarket)

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Yamazato @The Okura Prestige Bangkok ****

"Okura set lunch"'

Staying at the Okura is out of my budget, but I did have the Gozen set lunch menu with some Japanese friends there. For around 650 baht ($18) each we had a wide range of small dishes including sashimi, tempura, tofu, raw and pickled vegetables, miso soup, etc. For dessert we had fruit and a creamy dish. I enjoyed the food and its variety very much, and my friends obviously do too as they've been coming here for here for lunch regularly.

Location and view are excellent, service is immaculate. Because of the steep price I won't be back any time soon. 

57 Wireless Road (Wittayu Road), Park Ventures Ecoplex
02 687 9000
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g293916-d2624290-r450880113-The_Okura_Prestige_Bangkok-Bangkok.html

Sunday, January 8, 2017

Krua Apsorn, Dinso Road | ครัวอัปษร สาขา ถนนดินสอ ***** ★

“One of the best local food places” 

I've been coming here over the years with both Thai and foreign friends and everyone loves the food. The place isn't much to look at, it's extremely busy and there's usually a queue for dinner. Still, the wonderful old-fashioned Thai food makes it worth the wait.

The last time we had the stir-fried mushrooms, yellow curry with lotus roots (rarely seen anywhere), prawn omelet, baramundi (fish) with celery, sato beans with prawns and minced pork, plus a few more, literally all of them excellent dishes.

Please note that the restaurant closes at 8 pm. They run out of the more popular dishes well before that.

169 Dinso Road, off Ratchadamnoen Road 
02 685 4531, 080 550 0310  

Glur Bangkok | เกลอ แบงคอก ***

“Big-size drinks, no cake, expensive food” 

Met here with some old friends recently for a coffee and a chat. The small cafe looks nice with wooden furniture inside and a terrace outside.

The drip coffee was tasty and my friends' smoothies were good. We'd expected cake, but there wasn't any. The staff was nice enough to let us bring our own. The mostly Thai food was expensive; one of my friends went for an all-day breakfast which was okay.

Staff was friendly but our drinks came very slow, one-by-one, and we were presented with the bill without asking for it.

45 Soi Charoen Krung 50
02 630 5595 

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Moo Cafe | หมู อาหาร และ เครื่องดื่ม ***

Once in a while when passing by, we go for a drink or some simple food at Moo Cafe. It's a hip place with stylish, wooden furniture and natural stone, air conditioned space as well as a terrace outside with lots of green.

Being a cafe, the menu is quite limited and it's not a place to go and share a good meal with friends, but it's a good place to have a drink with some snacks (grilled dried beef, fried chicken, shrimp balls) or a single dish like macaroni or fried rice to fill you up. A small selection of fruit smoothies, coffees and of course beer awaits you.

Service is friendly, prices are reasonable. The owner's 2 dogs can be an additional attraction for dog lovers, especially now that there are puppies around (Dec 2016).

667 / 2-3 Sukhumvit Soi 101 Punnawithi 23 (Sukhumvit soi 101, corner soi 23)
081 174 4471
BTS Punnawithi

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

El Mercado Bangkok ****

“Excellent import food, reasonable prices”

Originally an importer and distributor of fish, cheese, meat products, etc., now also a restaurant where their fresh food is served. 

The house is old and charming, and there's a terrace outside. It's close to the MRT, now a bit dodgy, but an upcoming area. 

Our fresh European mussels served with a huge bowl of french fries, tuna carpaccio, beet root salad and cheese plate were all excellent. The drinks list was long, the beers and wines cheaper than elsewhere. It was very crowded (reservation recommended), so the service was a bit slow, and the local staff was not very knowledgeable. 

490 Soi Phai Sing To, Sukhumvit Soi 16 
02 258 1385

Mee Ja Kin | มีจะกิน ****

My Thai friend’s favourite restaurant in Seaon Square is Mee Ja Kin, where they have an excellent and not expensive khanom jin (fresh rice noodles with side dishes) buffet. 

The wooden furniture is made to look old, there are old Thai photos on the walls and there’s a video loop with old footage of hunters catching wild elephants for domestication. 

For those that are not a fan of khanom jin like myself, there’s a small menu with a series of other dishes. My own favourite is kao kluk kapi, rice mixed with shrimp paste, wrapped in egg, served with small portions of raw onion, small pieces of meat, sausage, raw mano, green beans, cucumber, chile and fresh lime. Refills of trational Thai herbal juices are available, besides some regular drinks, and there’s ice cream for dessert.

2nd floor Season Square, Srinakarin Road
02 720 2649

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Baan Steak | บ้านสเต็ก, Paknam, Samut Prakan (2) ****

“Good steak in cosy house” 

I was a regular visitor when I still worked in the area, and re-visited with my ex-colleague recently. The small restaurant is located on the grounds of a former school, just off main road, with parking space provided. 

The atmosphere inside is simple but homely, with flower-stickers covering the windows. There are only about 10 tables spread out over 2 rooms. There's one table outside for smokers. 

All customers receive the standard free appetiser, fried basil. On the menu western and Thai dishes with a small variety of steaks, and there's icecream for dessert. I recommended the mackerel fish steak, which is served with salad and some fries. Separate salads and soup are also available. All food tastes well.

The waiters friendly and hardworking. The place is very popular at lunchtime, and you may even be turned down at that time unless you arrive before 12.

2  Si Samut Rd. (opposite Samut Prakan Deputy Governor House)
Pak Nam
02 389 5333

Monday, November 14, 2016

Ban Khun Mae | บ้านคุณแม่ ***

“Focused on tourists” 

Typical tourist place decorated in Thai style, with nice atmosphere, low-key live traditional music and okay Thai food in small portions at high prices. They refused to take our reservation but there was enough space when we arrived. Service was friendly but a bit slow. 

458/6-9 Siam Square Soi 8, Rama 1 Road 
02 250 1952-3 

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Chan & Yupa Tearoom ***

“Not my cup of tea” 

If you like romantic you're in the right place, and with a beautiful garden too. Rattan furniture with artificial flowers on the well decked-out table. 

Unfortunately everything is quite expensive with most dishes at least 200 THB, and tax and service charge are not even included on the menu. 

Our coffee and cake were good, our scones okay. A free glass of water on the side would have been nice with all that sweetness.

It was very difficult to get the attention of the staff, even though it wasn't crowded at all. 

2 Soi Sukhumvit 10, Sukhumvit Road 
081 846 9898 

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Bangkok Okinawa Restaurant Kinjo | ร้านอาหารโอกินาวา คินโจ | バンコク沖縄家庭料理&民謡居酒屋金城) ****


“Mostly tasty food, a pity they'd ran out of (squid) ink”

The first time I visited I tried their famous black noodles, Ikasumi Yakisoba, a fun dish that temporarily stains your mouth and teeth black from squid ink. When I went back they'd unfortunately ran out of ink, but luckily they have a very wide selection of other choices. 

We tried an excellent grilled mushroom dish, yakisoba fried noodles, pork nigiri (a heavy dish made of spam, fried egg and rice, not recommended), fermented soybean salad (a bit too slimy for my taste) and a few other dishes. Their fixed sets are very reasonably priced at around 200 THB, We had one of the several types of beer available and some hot tea. 

Service is friendly and active, food arrived quite fast. 

Visited October 2016
24/1 Soi Sukhumvit 69
02 711 0536

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Caturday Cat Cafe ***

“Fun for cat lovers - if you can interest the cats to play” 

I enjoyed playing with the cats, but most of them were not in the mood to play and they tried to evade my stroking. Using pieces of wire, a little ball and other stimulants hardly got any of them interested. Our drinks and cake were pricey, which is fair enough, and there are souvenirs and special cat snacks available for sale. I assume those will get them interested.

Service was friendly but a bit slow. Obviously the cats are their prime interest.

Co-Co Walk Plaza, Phaya Thai Rd.
02 656 5247
Facebook

Monday, September 26, 2016

The Artist's House • Bangkok Art and Culture Centre ****

Finding ourselves hungry in the BACC we decided for a quick meal in this cosy, small restaurant annex gallery with artistic decorations and wooden furniture.

They just have a few dishes to choose from (2 types of noodle dishes, 2 types of fresh spring rolls), but the food was excellent, plus there were some healthy drink choices like rosella and guava juice.

Friendly service, cheapish food and drinks.

After the meal we bought quite a few design postcards (just 5 THB ($0.15) each) and admired the pottery and other handmade gifts and objects on sale in the gallery.

4th floor Bangkok Art and Culture Centre 
939 Rama 1 Road

Siam Food Court | สยาม ฟู้ดคอร์ด ***

“Good for a quick meal in between your shopping” This air-conditioned little food court is right in between Siam Square and MBK shopping areas, at the base of the footbridge to MBK. 

There are a few simple shops serving basic Thai food like noodle soup and chicken on rice, one with with suki, salmon steak and some other Japanese-style dishes and there's one shop selling drinks (smoothies, soda with lemonade, water and soft drinks). My salmon steak tasted well and it came with French fries and some salad for just 55 baht (less than $2). 

Like in most food courts in Thailand you have to buy a cash card to pay with. The remaining balance will be refunded when you return the card. The court is self-service and the food was ready fast.

Siam Square
Open until 8 pm

Ploendee Restaurant | ร้านอาหารบ้านเพลินดี *****

A few Thai colleagues and I went for lunch at this nicely located restaurant next to a small canal with view of the wooden houses at the other side. The outside restaurant is big and has lots of tables, mostly wood and stone, but there's still a cosy atmosphere because of some green and the low roof.

The food is excellent and not very expensive. We had for example som tam seafood (the best!), fried fish with garlic, and yam tua plu, a vegetable salad. Staff was friendly and service was quite fast.

113/1 Soi Rim Khlong Mon, Arun Amarin Road (ซอย ริมคลองมอญ ถนน อรุณอัมรินทร์), Bangkok
Phone: 02 891 2967
Open Mon-Sat 11 am-11 pm

Le Dalat Restaurant | เลอ ดาลัด ****

“Excellent food, nice decoration, but a bit crude”

I really enjoyed the food, the Vietnamese decoration was beautiful, staff were dressed in original Vietnamese clothes and the garden was pretty. 

However, my beer in a glass of a naked woman and crude "fun" decorations in both bathrooms were a bit much. Why an exhibitionist doll exposing his p*nis, a signboard with different breast shapes or a model of a butt with a finger pointing to the *sshole in a classy restaurant like this? 

Staff was friendly and fast. 

14 Sukhumvit 23
02 661 7967-8
http://www.bkkmenu.com/restaurant/Le-Dalat

Sunday, August 7, 2016

P Kitchen | พี. คิชเช่น ***

“Tasty Thai food, inattentive service” 

The restaurant has a wide variety of not very expensive Thai dishes on the menu, of which we tried 4-5 dishes. The food was quite good. 

We sat inside in the air-conditioned space, which turned out to be a bad idea with different sets of kids running around and making a lot of noise. Next time we'll sit on the terrace outside. 

It was difficult to attract the staff's attention, and when they finally came they tried to take away dishes while we were still eating from them. 

11/3 Sukhumvit Soi 18
02 663 4950
Facebook

Thursday, May 26, 2016

101 Sports Bar ***

“A good place to hang out with foreign friends”

This open bar in higher Sukhumvit is a nice place if you're looking for other foreigners to share a beer or play a game of pool or darts. Customers are mostly foreigners living in the area, some with their Thai wives or girlfriends and their kids (!), and a few local Thai coming to watch a sports game on TV or have a drink. 

The beer's not very expensive and they serve big bottles (120 baht, $3.5). On the menu some nice pub food (pies and curries) and some Thai food. The Thai few dishes I tried were no more than okay.

The service if friendly. The live music (I think only at the weekends) is too loud, but if you like a family atmosphere this is the right place to go.

Sukhumvit 101, opposite soi 21, behind the 711
083 687 3565 
Facebook

Pun-ya (Pan Ya) | ร้านอาหารปั้นหยา, Nonthaburi ****

“Excellent Thai food at the riverside just north of Bangkok”

The family-run restaurant is a traditional wooden house with a big terrace next to the Chao Praya river. The wind is fresh, the view is nice.

We had a pla yam kan (a spicy vegetable salad), som cha om (spicy shrimp soup), krapong tod nam (friend fish) and fried vegetables and they were all excellent. There's no English menu but plenty of photos to choose from. They serve soft drinks, beers and whiskey, etc.. Unfortunately they don't do desserts, and not even a coffee was to be had.

Service was friendly, prices reasonable.

43, Soi Sam Luang, Phiboon Songkhram Rd.
Nonthaburi
02 526 1554
Facebook

Sathan Tak-akat Bang Pu | ร้านอาหาร สถานตากอากาศบางปู (ศาลาสุขใจ), Samut Prakan ****

“Excellent, affordable food with beautiful view” 

The walk along the pier to the "Sala Sukjay" seaside restaurant was already a pleasure with lots of seagulls to feed (in the right season) and nice views of the mangrove coast and the Gulf of Thailand. The restaurant is huge, with air-conditioned space as well as covered and open terraces with sea view outside. 

We had the wild boar, which was okay, a spicy eggplant salad, fried fish stomach with crab, and razor clams with bell pepper, all of which were excellent. Water, soft drinks and beer are available. We had a Thai dessert and a coffee; there are also ice cream and fruits on the menu. 

As the restaurant is owned by the army, the prices are very reasonable, and the service is friendly, professional and quite fast. NOTE: the place is open from 10 am to 8 pm. There are several small snack shops and a souvenir shop at the entrance of the restaurant, and you can take a walk in the mangrove through the Bang Pu Education Nature Centre at the pier entrance at certain hours. 

164 Moo 2, Bang Pu Seaside Resort, Sukhumvit Road
Bang Pu Mai, Samut Prakan
02 323 1213

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Crown Kitchen ***

“Nice interior, friendly service, average food” 

This almost 40-year old restaurant has a nice 70ties interior on one floor with mezzanine. The atmosphere could be nicer with the TV off. 

Maybe the dishes were intended that way (Thai-Chinese food tends to be quite oily), or we may have been unlucky, but all our 3 dishes were far too oily and quite salty and we didn't finish our food. The bottled beer tasted well. 

Service was friendly and fast, prices reasonable.

326 Krungkasem Road
02 282 3188
Facebook

Sizzler - Seacon Square ***

“Excellent salad bar” 

When I feel like a good salad, Sizzler is the place to go. The unlimited salad bar has lots of fresh raw and cooked vegetables, ready to eat salads, soups, quail eggs, some pasta, and some nice desserts (chocolate mousse!) including fruit. 

In the past I've tried several of the meat dishes on the menu but didn't like any of them: the meat is too soft, and there's not much taste. The fish 'n chips are okay. Meat or fish is served with a choice of French fries or baked potato and a tasty slice of buttered thick toast. The salad bar is included too. Refill softdrinks are affordable, and a pot of tea is available. 

Service is friendly, but sometimes we have to wait long for a refill. The main dish is usually slow, but of course you can delve into the salad bar right away so it's not a problem. 

Seacon Scquare
4F, 904 M.6, Srinakarin Road
061 421 1980
http://www.sizzler.co.th/en/

Kuang Heng - Pratunam Chicken & Rice *****

“Best fresh spring rolls in Bangkok” 

I've been coming here for many years for the freshest and softest spring rolls (poh pia sod) and pork sateh served with peanut sauce, sliced cucumber, onions and chili. My friend loves the fish stomach soup (krapoh pla) and the Hainanese chicken on rice (khao man kay). That's the whole menu as far as I know. 

 The place isn't much to look at, with tables outside on the pavement next to a busy street, but the food is well worth it. Service is friendly and fast, prices quite cheap. There's water, soft drink and beer, so a good place to sit if you can find a table. It's open 24/7. 

Viva Tapas Bar and Restaurant **

“Nice place for people-watching, mediocre and expensive food” 

Nice location in the heart of things, a good place for people-watching. A pity the food was no more than mediocre. One friend had a tasteless salad with cream dressing, another one spaghetti that needed a lot more sauce, served with chewy bread, and I had to throw away half of my cooked mussels as inedible. The draft beer tasted well, but everything was expensive. 

Staff was friendly if we could catch them, and service was okay. 

Imoya (2) **** ★

“Atmospheric place with lots of good dishes” 

My favourite Japanse vintage restaurant has a wide range of Japanese and fusion dishes. On arrival all personnel shouts a greeting, and you always get a free cheap appetiser (you can say no) and a hot towel. 

Sushi, sashimi, curries, soups, teriyaki, but also the Japanese version of asparagus in bacon and French fries are available. The food is not expensive, and many dishes are tasty. A wide variety of drinks, including of course hot tea, various sakes and beers. Regulars have their own bottle that is kept for them between visits. 

 The wooden furniture, with public space as well as separate walled-off areas where you take off your shoes and sit on a low bench or the floor, and the vintage Japanese decorations, make you feel like you went back in time. Smoking is allowed in the floor-seating area.

Best Beef ****

“Good food for a nice price” 

The place is a huge open-air barn with good ventilation, at least a 100 tables, a queue with people waiting to be seated and a parking problem. All you can eat in 2 hours for just 230 THB ($7) or around 400 THB ($12) including beer. 

The food is a choice of maybe 40 dishes, including 4 types of beef (the tongue is excellent), some pork, chicken, seafood, mushrooms, salad and vegetables, in short, enough to make a healthy meal on your own little cooking plate. 

Service is everywhere, fast and friendly. 

Tawandang German Brewery ****

“Entertaining night out”

A short taxi ride away from Asok BTS station lies this enormous German beer house that brews its own beers. Our food (pork knuckle, various spicy salads, fresh oysters) was pricey but tasted well, our big towers of lager beer tasty. The dark beer was so-so. 

 Being a Tawan Daeng (red sun), the place is a big, dark barn with wooden furniture and a continuous stage show. The performance varied from veteran Thai singer Chanchana and a series of young male and female singers with lots of dancers to a drinking game and tacky dressed-up performers. Unfortunately they didn't play many songs-for-life (Thai country songs), normally the signature music in Tawan Daengs, although most songs were Thai. The audience distributed their 100-baht bills to the performers generously, and eventually started dancing along creating a great atmosphere.

Doo Dee Siam ****

“Delicious Thai food at central location” 

I've been coming back to his restaurant on and off for over 10 years. They've moved a few times, but now they're back on 2 floors at their original location at Siam soi 4. It's not very atmospheric, but the food is always delicious, and during the day the place is very popular with locals and tourists alike.

My favourites are the tom yam noodles (spicy and sweet) and yam ponlamai, a spicy fruit salad, nowadays served in a cabbage leaf, and I always drink their chrysanthemum drink, a sweet yellow drink made of flowers. With friends I've shared some other dishes like po pia sod (spring rolls) and they were good too. 

Prices are reasonable. Service is friendly and quick. They have an English menu, but don't speak much English. 

Hemingway's Bangkok Garden Bar & Restaurant **** [CLOSED]

“Good food at relaxing location” 

This old teak wood house from the 1920's has various seating areas on 2 floors where you can enjoy its classic interior or the lush garden. 

The menu is international. Some dishes are very generous and can be shared. We had an excellent fish 'n chips (well, the fish was great), a tasty beetroot salad, meat balls and fried calamari that were a bit dry. Drinks are cheap during the extensive happy hours, and still affordable after. 

Minuses are the queues (reserve at the weekend!) and the many special rules for e.g. big groups and Sundays. During my previous visit there was a very loud event going on upstairs. 

10thirtycafe ***

“Trendy cafe with limited menu” 

As the name implies, the place is more of a cafe than a restaurant, although they do serve food as well. The atmosphere is modern with lots of glass, seating inside as well as outdoors with a view of Major Cineplex Ratchayothin. 

The menu covers a limited selection of western and Thai food. We had excellent French fries with garlic sauce, a spicy pork spaghetti and a bacon salad. The food was tasty, but this is not the place to go and share an extensive meal. There's also a counter with a choice of coffees, teas and smoothies and a wide selection of cakes. 

Service was friendly but mostly absent.

Vientiane Kitchen ***

“If you don't have a chance to explore the real North-East” 

It may have been original once (I came a few times more than 10 years ago), but now it's just a place for tourists to get a taste of the food and culture of the North-East. The decorations and the show (dance, song, traditional instruments) provide for a local atmosphere, except when they sing some Japanese (!) songs for the many groups of Japanese, and unfortunately they ask the audience to join them in some games and (fake) ceremonies. 

My Thai friends thought that most of the food was okay, only the som tam and yam (spicy salad) were a bit off: one was far too sweet, another one so spicy it was inedible even for them. I myself enjoyed several types of fish, vegetable dishes and tongue, and for fun you could try some really local dishes like friend egg with ants eggs and fried frog. 

Prices are quite high, service is excellent. 

Mother May I ****

“Excellent food, small portions, unprofessional service” 

This simple and stylish restaurant within walking distance from the skytrain in a quiet soi has excellent Thai food and plenty of choice on the menu. The food is quite affordable, but portions are small. Unfortunately several of the dishes we ordered were not available, and they just brought us 1 of the 2 desserts we asked for without telling us the other one was not available. 

Service was quite slow but friendly. 

Hua Seng Hong Restaurant ****

“Tasty Chinese and Thai-Chinese food” 

The restaurant is conveniently located near BTS Punnawithi, but parking space is scarce. Very popular for weekend family dinners, it's a huge, not very cosy place on different levels. The booths near the windows are the best places to sit if you want some privacy. 

 The food is tasty, although like all Chinese food often a bit oily and salty, and there's lot of choice in Chinese and Thai dishes, often in different sizes. There are some family sets and they serve seafood and shark fin soup as their signature dishes. My personal favourites are the roast duck and the taro fruit basket. 

Staff is everywhere and quick to serve.

Monday, February 24, 2014

King Kong Yakiniku Buffet by Nami ****

table grill
In the mood some Japanese food, my friend I visited this fixed-price buffet restaurant in Ekamai. For 2 hours you can eat and drink as much as you like from the grill built-in in the tables.

The 2 floors are decked out simply with black and grey furniture and partitions in between. There's an enormous range of food to choose from varying from fish, squid, mussels and all kinds of meats to giant mushrooms, all served with

Chabuton Ramen @ Gateway Ekamai ***

shio tonkutsu ramen
An easy place for a quick ramen (Japanese noodles) are the 13 or so branches of the Japanese chain Chabuton Ramen, located in many major shopping malls in Bangkok. The Gateway Ekamai branch is fitted with low wooden booths and minimal decoration.

As the name implies, there's a range of different kinds of ramen (of which we ordered 2) and some other Japanese dishes. The food was okay but not exciting,

P'Poo (ป.ปุ๊), Bang Duan, Samut Prakan ****

kuay tiao pla
One of my regular lunch-places while I was working in the area was P'Poo's restaurant. It's located in the beautiful garden of one of the many wooden houses in the soi and sports wooden furniture and lots of green.

The food is basically simple Thai dishes with seafood, like their signature dish kuay tiao pla (noodle soup with fish), yen ta fo, khao tom (rice soup), friend rice with salty fish,

P'Jook ***

tom yam seafood
P'Jook, located in an old shop house a few hundred meters in the soi,  is a very popular place in the neighbourhood. Not an atmospheric place to sit though with its metal tables, ventilators and devoid of any decoration except for a shrine for their Thai-Chinese gods and ancestors.

However, the food justifies a visit or a take-away. It's made to order, so they can make whatever you fancy as long as

Monday, September 23, 2013

Somtam Khun Kan | ส้มตำคุณกัญจณ์ ***

pla tabtim yang kleua
When we're in the mood for some Thai food in a nice environment, we end up at Somtam Khun Kan for dinner sometimes. 

One of the reasons we like it is the atmosphere, with its lush plants, rough wooden furniture and live music. The place is covered with a wooden construction, so no need to worry about rain or sunshine. 

The restaurant has the whole range of Thai food, from simple somtam and yams (spicy salads), to kho moo yang (grilled pork neck), and loads of fresh seafood. There's a whole range of aquariums with fish, prawns and other seafood in the front, with a dedicated cook. They also have a separate Thai dessert shop,

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Santa Fe Steak | ซานตา เฟ่ สเต็ก, Muang, Samut Prakan ***

combo with beef fillet mignon
Last month some colleagues and I went  for a steak lunch at a nearby Sante Fe franchise, which no doubt is called after the famous American "Santa Fe Railway" - that never actually reached Santa Fe by the way.

The restaurant is inside a building but does have windows to the mall. It has simple wooden and laminated furniture, semi-private booths and sparse decorations.

As the name suggests, it's foremost a steak restaurant, so of course we ordered steak. I had an excellent soft and juicy tenderloin steak, while

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Meat & Greet Burger ****

double cheesburger
Visiting the new Train Market we decided to have a quick meal at this halal burger place. Yes, you read it correctly, the American food on offer is halal, and the ladies that serve the food wear moslem dress. 

The place is decorated in warm reds and browns, and except for the counter it doesn't look like a fastfood restaurant at all. It has windows on all sides, and you can look into the kitchen from outside.

Meat & Greet serves a small menu of burgers, fish 'n chips, french fries, snacks

Saturday, August 17, 2013

Nueng Anong | ร้านข้าวต้ม หนึ่งอนงค์ **

tom yam het
Hungry after getting off the regional bus near Udomsuk, we popped in for a quick Thai (North-Eastern) meal at this restaurant at the foot of the stairs to the BTS.

We heard the Thai karaoke already while approaching the restaurant, which was filled with Thai on this Sunday evening. It's an open restaurant, kept "cool" by ventilators only, and the interior isn't much to look at, with a view of Sukhumvit Road.

We had some standard Thai dishes, like a tasty yam wun sen

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Yam Saap @ Siam Square | ยำแซ่บ

rambutan salad with shrimp
Yam Saap is a good place to sample some Thai spicy salads (yams). Over the years I've visited the original branch - opened at Siam Square in 2000 - as well as some others. The around 50 branches can usually be found at shopping malls in Bangkok, with a few branches in the country side.

The restaurants are always decorated in simple, modern style, and the food is served on elegant but plastic serving plates.

As the name implies, Yam Saap is famous for its yams (spicy salads) in many varieties,

Saturday, June 15, 2013

Oishi Ramen @ Major Ekamai ***

ramen
Catching a quick meal before our movie we usually end up eating in a branch of the Japanese chain Oishi.

Furniture and decoration are clean and simple with bright lighting, and food is served in proper ceramics.

Oishi serves a variety of Japanese meat and fish ramen (noodles), rice dishes and lots of other dishes like gyoza, dumplings, salads and tempura. The food usually tastes fine, and the salad I had last time was fresh and delicious. Oishi is

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Rasa Khas Indonesian Restaurant **

gado-gado
Remembering the delicious street food we had in Indonesia, I tried out this new restaurant with some friends. Everything showed that it was new (well, 4 months old or so), from the sparse furniture and few decorations inside to the absence of most of the curries on the menu, because "we are a new restaurant and can not stock everything", and the low number of eaters.

The bamboo terrace outside seemed nicer than

Friday, March 8, 2013

Malaysia Hotel Restaurant | โรงแรม มาเลเซีย ***

khao tom set
The restaurant of Malaysia Hotel is the place we often used to go for food after a late night out. This area was the backpackers area of Bangkok before Khao San Road took over, but nowadays it's more popular among gay tourists and residents.

The place is decorated simply with wooden furniture, handicraft place mats and a stone floor, lined with a long bar on the side.

The 24-hour restaurant has an extensive menu with lots of Thai and western dishes, but the khao tom (rice soup) set is the best. A big

Monday, February 25, 2013

Peking Restaurant | ปักกิ่ง ****

stewed 3-layered pork
A friend checked out this restaurant a few weeks ago after seeing Chinese tour groups enjoying their meals on the terrace, and came back with enthusiastic stories about the delicious food and unique North-Chinese dishes on the menu. According to their web site, their Shandong styled cuisine was an essential part of old Beijing’s royal palace menu. Anyway, last night we went for dinner at the Silom branch.

As usual for Chinese restaurants, the place looks simple and undecorated with light wooden furniture and some food photos on the walls. It's air-conditioned, but there's a terrace outside near the road.

The menu contains a treasure of dishes I'd never tried or even heard off,

Monday, February 11, 2013

Khun Sak | คุณสาก ***

yam het
Meeting a friend at IMAX Ratchayothin we went to this modern North-Eastern Thai restaurant just around the corner. 

The furniture is made of dark wood, tiles on the floor and some spectacular lamps on the ceiling. There's a mezzanine with more seats upstairs. The walls are panelled with light wood and parts in the back are painted in apple green, and the overall atmosphere is nice.

The food consists mostly of Isan (North-Eastern Thai) dishes. We tried the yam het (mushroom salad), an excellent dish